Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

International Collaboration for Excellence and Innovation in Mental Health in Corrections - I‑CEIsMIC

$1.6 million for 2017-20

Headquarters
Toronto, Ontario

Scientific Director
Alexander (Sandy) Simpson Alexander (Sandy) Simpson

Improving access to mental health services in corrections


The opportunity

Studies have shown that mental health problems are more common and severe in correctional institutes than in the general population. Increases in suicide, violence and other problems have escalated public concern about this vulnerable and marginalized group of people. Despite agreement that inmates should have the same access to care as the wider community, services have remained relatively underdeveloped. Incarceration provides an opportunity to engage with individuals with serious mental illness who could benefit from treatment.

How I-CEIsMIC is seizing the opportunity

Led by the two major Canadian forensic mental health centres (the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto and the Forensic Psychiatric Hospital in Coquitlam, BC), the International Collaboration for Excellence and Innovation in Mental Health in Corrections (I-CEIsMIC) is mobilizing an international and interdisciplinary network of leaders in correctional mental health. Network activities cover the period from initial contact with the law to post-release reintegration. They are designed to improve the health of inmates, increase the safety of institutions, promote public safety and reduce the economic burden of crime. Among its key tools, I-CEIsMIC implements and disseminates the evidence-based STAIR (screening, triage, assessment, intervention and reintegration) care model, stimulating service improvement and policy changes.

Among the expected results

  • The network will develop infrastructure and support implementation of the STAIR approach at a minimum of 15 sites in Canada and internationally, resulting in faster and more reliable identification of those with mental health needs and better planning for their service needs. Better care is expected to result in reduced recidivism, while improving inmates’ ability to function and be productive in society.
  • Evidence and research gaps to be addressed by the network and its partners include gathering data to determine how mental health affects recidivism, “revolving door” problems (people who are repeatedly in contact with mental health and legal systems), public safety, and suffering related to unmet mental health needs.
  • I-CEIsMIC will improve the engagement, responsiveness and capacity of organizations and individuals who deliver care or play another role that places them in regular contact with inmates (e.g. correctional institution staff). Specific engagement efforts include workshops and seminars at international meetings, as well as on-line webinars and self-paced learning.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

International Collaboration for Excellence and Innovation in Mental Health in Corrections - I‑CEIsMIC

1,6 million de dollars pour 2017-2020

Siège social
Toronto (Ontario)

Directeur scientifique
Alexander (Sandy) Simpson Alexander (Sandy) Simpson

Améliorer l’accès aux services de santé mentale dans le système correctionnel


L’occasion

Les études ont révélé que les problèmes de santé mentale sont plus fréquents et plus graves dans les établissements correctionnels par rapport à la population générale. Une augmentation du nombre de suicides, de la violence et d’autres problèmes a avivé l’inquiétude du public à l’égard de ce groupe vulnérable et marginalisé. Bien que l’on convienne que les détenus devraient avoir le même accès aux soins que l’ensemble de la communauté, les services restent relativement peu développés. L’incarcération offre la possibilité de travailler avec des personnes atteintes d’une maladie mentale grave qui pourraient bénéficier d’un traitement.

Comment le réseau I-CEIsMIC saisit l’occasion

Dirigé par deux importants centres canadiens de psychiatrie médicolégale (le Centre for Addiction and Mental Health à Toronto et le Forensic Psychiatric Hospital à Coquitlam (C.-B.), le réseau I-CEIsMIC mobilise un réseau international et interdisciplinaire de chefs de file de la santé mentale dans les établissements correctionnels. Les activités du réseau portent sur la période allant des premiers démêlés avec la justice jusqu’à la réinsertion sociale. Elles visent à améliorer la santé des détenus, à accroitre la sécurité des établissements, à améliorer la sécurité publique et à réduire le fardeau économique de la criminalité. Afin de favoriser l’amélioration des services et la modification de politiques, le réseau I-CEIsMIC met en œuvre et diffuse l’un de ses outils clés, son modèle de soins fondé sur les preuves STAIR (dépistage, triage, évaluation, intervention et réinsertion).

Quelques résultats attendus

  • Le réseau développera l’infrastructure requise pour la méthode STAIR et appuiera sa mise en œuvre à au moins 15 endroits au Canada et à l’étranger, ce qui permettra de déceler de manière plus rapide et plus fiable les personnes ayant des besoins en santé mentale, et de mieux planifier la prestation des services pour y répondre. On s’attend à ce que de meilleurs soins réduisent le taux de récidive tout en améliorant la capacité des détenus à fonctionner et à devenir productifs dans la société.
  • Parmi les données probantes et les lacunes de la recherche sur lesquelles se pencheront le réseau et ses partenaires, mentionnons la collecte de données pour déterminer comment la santé mentale influe sur la récidive, le problème de la « porte tournante » (personnes qui sont constamment en contact avec le système judiciaire et le système de santé mentale), la sécurité du public et la souffrance liée aux besoins en santé mentale non comblés.
  • Le réseau I-CEIsMIC améliorera l’engagement, la souplesse et la capacité des organisations et des personnes qui prodiguent des soins ou jouent un autre rôle les mettant régulièrement en contact avec les détenus (par exemple, le personnel des établissements correctionnels). Les efforts précis visant à faciliter la participation des détenus comprennent des ateliers et des séminaires dans le cadre de réunions internationales, ainsi que la présentation de webinaires en ligne et un apprentissage au rythme de l’apprenant.