Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

RESEAU Centre for Mobilizing Innovation - RESEAU

$1.6 million for 2019-23
About   |   News
RESEAU Centre for Mobilizing Innovation

Headquarters
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia

Network Co-Director
Madjid Mohseni Madjid Mohseni

Knowledge User Co-Director and Interim Board Chair
Irving LeblancIrving Leblanc

Sustainable outcomes in drinking water health for Indigenous and other non-urban communities in Canada


The opportunity

Six million people living in Indigenous and non-urban (I+NU) communities in Canada face highly disproportionate exposure to negative health, social and economic impacts from untreated and contaminated drinking water. Problems are rooted in the complexities of knowledge sharing and utilization – no single individual or organization possesses all of the knowledge needed to fully assess complex issues and solve fundamental problems unique to each community.

How RESEAU is seizing the opportunity

RESEAU Centre for Mobilizing Innovation’s (RESEAU) goal is to accelerate the creation of sustainable improvements in drinking water health for Canadian I+NU communities. RESEAU’s Community Circle™ model for innovation customizes solutions for communities, with decisions, practices, technologies and services tailored to a community’s unique needs. It systematically collects and assesses existing knowledge of potential solutions, while capturing and weighing the perspective of all the stakeholders involved in I+NU water system upgrades. RESEAU’s helps partners and stakeholders understand and act upon the knowledge, skills, values and ethical responsibilities required to innovate, and to embrace the notion that issues of water quality in I+NU communities are directly connected to broader health and social challenges.

Among the expected results

  • Developing a culturally responsive evaluation framework for assessing innovative technologies, services, regulations, services, regulations and policies that enhances understanding of barriers and solutions.
  • Building a cloud-based Knowledge Bank bringing various forms of digital content together to produce user-focused knowledge products that influence developing and achieving outcomes of greater significance than might be achieved independently
  • Propagating the first-ever Canadian Framework for Ethical Water health Innovation based on synthesized stakeholder knowledge and experience to guide I+NU water/community health improvement projects and processes.
  • Engaging 15 regional I+NU “anchor” community groups through Community Circle™ to become a stabilizing force, helping nearby communities to make choices pertaining to self-governance and self-determination, as well as sustainability.

Connect with RESEAU

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

RESEAU Centre for Mobilizing Innovation - RESEAU

1,6 million de dollars pour 2019-2023
RESEAU Centre for Mobilizing Innovation

Siège social
University of British Columbia, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Codirecteur du réseau
Madjid Mohseni Madjid Mohseni

Codirecteur utilisateur des connaissances et président du conseil d’administration par intérim
Irving LeblancIrving Leblanc

Amélioration durable de la qualité de l’eau potable dans les communautés autochtones et non urbaines du Canada


L’occasion

Quelque six-millions de personnes qui vivent dans des communautés autochtones ou non urbaines au Canada sont disproportionnellement exposées aux effets négatifs sur la santé et la situation socioéconomique de l’eau non traitée et contaminée. Les problèmes découlent notamment des difficultés associées à la communication et à l’utilisation des connaissances : aucune personne ou organisation ne possède, individuellement, toutes les connaissances requises pour évaluer pleinement les enjeux complexes et résoudre les problèmes fondamentaux propres à chaque collectivité.

Comment RESEAU saisit l’occasion

RESEAU s’est donné comme but d’accélérer la recherche de solutions durables pour améliorer la qualité de l’eau dans les communautés autochtones et non urbaines du Canada. Le modèle novateur du « cercle communautaire » utilisé par le réseau lui permet de personnaliser les solutions, c’est-à-dire d’adapter la prise de décisions, les pratiques, les technologies et les services aux besoins uniques de chacune des communautés. Le réseau recueille et évalue systématiquement l’information existante sur les pistes de solution envisagées en prenant en compte le point de vue de tous les intervenants qui participent à l’amélioration du réseau d’aqueduc dans les communautés autochtones et non urbaines. Il aide les partenaires et les intervenants à bien comprendre les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour innover ainsi que les valeurs et les responsabilités d’ordre éthique dont il faut aussi tenir compte. Il leur fait aussi voir que la question de la qualité de l’eau dans les communautés autochtones et non urbaines est directement liée à des enjeux sociaux et sanitaires beaucoup plus grands.

Quelques résultats attendus

  • Élaborer un cadre d’évaluation adapté aux réalités culturelles qui servira à évaluer les technologies, les services, les politiques et les règlements et permettra de mieux comprendre les obstacles et, par conséquent, les solutions.
  • Créer une banque de connaissances infonuagique regroupant diverses formes de contenu numérique, qui favorisera la création de produits d’information adaptés en fonction des utilisateurs. Ces produits permettront d’obtenir des résultats plus significatifs que ceux qu’on aurait obtenus autrement.
  • Faire connaitre le premier cadre d’innovation éthique canadien pour la qualité de l’eau, qui est fondé sur la synthèse des connaissances et de l’expérience des intervenants et qui orientera les projets et les processus d’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau et de la santé dans les communautés autochtones et non urbaines.
  • Rassembler 15 groupes communautaires de la région où se trouve la communauté autochtone ou non urbaine pour former le cercle communautaire qui servira de « point d’ancrage », de force stabilisatrice, pour aider les communautés voisines à faire des choix en matière d’autonomie gouvernementale, d’autodétermination et de durabilité.

Pour en savoir plus sur RESEAU

 

Nouvelles
Le 22 juillet 2019
Le 12 juillet 2019
Le 16 avril 2019