Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Key Criteria

2009 Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) Competition for New Networks

Recipient Criteria

Eligible recipients must meet the general eligibility requirements of one or more of the three federal granting agencies partnering in the Program.

Recipients eligible to receive an NCE Network grant are:

  • Network host: Canadian universities and post-secondary institutions with a mandate for research and their affiliated institutions (including hospitals, research institutes and other not-for-profit organizations), or a private-sector consortium that hosts a Network, and associated researchers
  • Networks of Centres of Excellence: a not-for-profit corporation incorporated under Part II of the Canada Corporations Act, and their Network members and associated researchers

As a condition of eligibility, funded NCE Networks shall incorporate as a not-for-profit organization and have an established Board of Directors responsible for the approval of their annual financial reports and audits, before funding is released.

Where there is significant overlap or reasonable potential for perceived overlap between a proposed NCE Network and (a) currently or previously funded initiative(s), applicants must append a short explanation (maximum three pages) to their LOI. This explanation should describe, both qualitatively and quantitatively, the differences between the proposed new NCE Network and the currently or previously funded initiative(s).  Describe how the proposed new NCE Network will compliment or build on the activities of the other initiative(s), as well as the incremental value of the proposed Network.

The NCE Steering Committee will make final decisions on eligibility.

Program Criteria

To ensure that the new NCE Network goals and objectives are met, proposals are assessed against the five criteria, relevance to the NCE Network goals and objectives and relevance to the target research areas. Networks are evaluated on an ongoing basis during tenure of a grant against these same criteria.  Research excellence is a necessary condition for the initial and the continued funding of a Network; however, it is not the sole condition, because the goal of the NCE Network is also reflected in the four additional criteria.

The five new NCE Network criteria are:

1. Excellence of the Research Program

The Network's research program must be driven to address Canadian needs and problems, and is therefore expected to be multidisciplinary and multi-sectoral.

Elements being considered are:

  • The excellence, focus and coherence of the research program
  • The balance between research into new discoveries and the application of research breakthroughs to address practical problems facing Canadians
  • The achievements of the researchers in the continuum of research and their ability to contribute to the realization of the Network's objectives
  • The value added by the Network's multifaceted approach, in terms of having all the critical linkages in place to generate world-class research breakthroughs, to apply that knowledge to practical solutions, and to commercialize innovations that produce social and economic benefits
  • The extent to which the program will contribute to Canada's abilities and reputation for international leadership in areas of high economic and social importance to Canada
  • The extent to which new and emerging social and ethical challenges are an integral part of the research program
  • The relationship of the proposed research program to similar work conducted in Canada and abroad

2. Development of Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP)

The training and retention of HQP is imperative to maximize the effectiveness of the Networks' contribution to the wealth, wellness and well being of Canadians. The Training Program proposed by the Network is expected to add value to the formal training initiatives already available through the academic community and should aim at helping students find employment in the Canadian economy (i.e., private sector partners, government, etc.). The multidisciplinary and multi-sectoral nature of a Network should be utilized to provide unique mentorship and training opportunities to maximize HQP retention and integration in all facets of the workforce.

Elements being considered are:

  • The ability to attract, develop and retain outstanding researchers in research areas and technologies critical to Canadian productivity, economic growth, public policy and quality of life
  • Training strategies that expose trainees to the full range of economic, social, and ethical implications of the Network's research by involving them in activities from the initial research discovery to its application through to practical social and economic benefits

3. Networking and Partnerships

The Network must demonstrate that it has brought together the key individuals and organizations needed to generate and implement multifaceted solutions to the complex Canadian challenges it is designed to address.

Elements being considered are:

  • Effective research and technology development links between national and international academic institutions, federal and provincial agencies, non-governmental organizations and private sector participants
  • Multidisciplinary, multi-sectoral approaches in the research program
  • Demonstration that the right partners/individuals are at the table to address the proposed issue, including international partners when applicable
  • Optimization of resources through the sharing of equipment and research facilities, databases and personnel
  • Presence, nature and extent of contributions from the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, and from international partners, as well as the prospect for increasing commitments as the work progresses

4. Knowledge and Technology Exchange and Exploitation

NCE Networks and Centres are expected to generate social and economic benefits by ensuring the rapid flow of ideas and innovations from researchers to Canadian receptors.  Applicants are expected to demonstrate that the appropriate activities will be undertaken and the appropriate resources allocated to maximize those benefits.   

Elements being considered are:

  • The new products, processes or services to be commercialized by firms operating in Canada as a result of the Network's activities and the extent to which these will strengthen the Canadian economic base, enhance productivity, and contribute to long-term economic growth and social benefits
  • The social innovations to be implemented as a result of the Network and the extent to which these will contribute to more effective public policy in Canada
  • Effective collaboration with the private, public and not-for-profit sectors in technology, market development, and public policy development
  • The extent to which the Network will help the partners develop strong receptor capacity to exploit current and future research breakthroughs
  • Effective management and protection of Canadian intellectual property resulting from Network-funded research
  • The extent to which additional/ complementary knowledge, and/or technology a foreign counterpart is contributing to Canada by an international partner, when international partnerships are relevant

5. Management of the Network

Each Network must have an organizational structure appropriate for the management of the research and business functions of a complex multidisciplinary, multi-institutional program.

The elements that must be included are:

  • A board and committee structure to ensure that appropriate policy and financial decisions are made and implemented
  • The presence of effective leadership and expertise in the research and the business management functions
  • Effective research planning and budgeting mechanisms
  • Effective internal and external communications strategies

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Critères clés

Concours de 2009 d'établissement de nouveaux Réseaux de centres d’excellences (RCE)

Critères d'admissibilité des bénéficiaires

Les bénéficiaires admissibles doivent remplir les conditions d'admissibilité de l'un ou plusieurs des trois conseils subventionnaires fédéraux partenaires dans le programme.

Les bénéficiaires ayant droit à une subvention des RCE sont les suivants :

  • Hôte du réseau : universités et établissements postsecondaires canadiens ayant pour mandat de faire de la recherche, et établissements qui leur sont rattachés (y compris hôpitaux, établissements de recherche et autres organisations sans but lucratif), ou consortium du secteur privé hébergeant un réseau, et chercheurs qui en font partie.
  • Réseaux de centres d'excellence : société sans but lucratif constituée en personne morale en vertu de la partie II de la Loi sur les corporations canadiennes, y compris membres et chercheurs associés du réseau.

Comme condition d'admissibilité, les réseaux financés doivent être constitués en société sans but lucratif et avoir un conseil d'administration établi responsable d'approuver les vérifications et les rapports financiers annuels avant le versement des fonds.

Quand il y a un chevauchement considérable ou une possibilité raisonnable d'impression de chevauchement entre un RCE proposé et une initiative ou des initiatives financées actuellement ou précédemment, les demandeurs doivent joindre une brève explication (au plus trois pages) à leur lettre d'intention. Cette explication doit montrer, qualitativement et quantitativement, les différences entre le réseau proposé ou toutes initiatives qui ont été appuyées ou qui sont actuellement appuyées. Il faut décrire comment le RCE proposé complètera les activités des autres initiatives ou ajoutera à celles-ci, ainsi que la valeur ajoutée du réseau proposé.

Le Comité de direction prendra les décisions finales relatives à l'admissibilité.

Critères de sélection du programme

Pour s'assurer qu'on satisfait les objectifs des RCE, les propositions sont évaluées en fonction de cinq critères, de leur pertinence par rapport aux objectifs des RCE et de la pertinence par rapport aux domaines de recherche cibles. Pendant la période de validité de la subvention, les réseaux choisis sont évalués en fonction de ces critères. L'excellence de la recherche est une condition sine qua non pour l'obtention ou le maintien d'une subvention d'un réseau; cependant, il ne s'agit pas de la seule condition, l'objectif du réseau étant aussi reflété dans les quatre autres critères de sélection.

Les cinq critères applicables aux RCE sont les suivants :

1. Excellence du programme de recherche

Le programme de recherche du réseau doit viser à répondre à des besoins et à des problèmes du Canada, et l'on s'attend donc à ce qu'il soit multidisciplinaire et multisectoriel.

Les facteurs pris en considération sont :

  • l'excellence, l'orientation et la cohérence du programme de recherche;
  • l'équilibre entre la recherche sur de nouvelles découvertes et l'application des percées en recherche pour résoudre des problèmes pratiques auxquels font face les Canadiens;
  • les réalisations des chercheurs dans le continuum de la recherche et leur capacité de contribuer à la réalisation des objectifs du réseau;
  • la valeur ajoutée par l'approche à facettes multiples du réseau, en termes d'avoir en place tous les liens essentiels pour produire des percées en recherche de calibre international, appliquer ces connaissances à des solutions pratiques et commercialiser les innovations qui apportent des avantages sociaux et économiques;
  • la mesure dans laquelle le programme contribuera à améliorer les capacités et la réputation du Canada afin qu'il soit un chef de file international dans les domaines qui ont une grande importance au pays sur le plan socioéconomique;
  • la mesure dans laquelle les défis sociaux et éthiques nouveaux et émergents font partie intégrante du programme de recherche;
  • les liens entre le programme de recherche proposé et des travaux semblables menés au Canada et à l'étranger.

2. Formation de personnel hautement qualifié

Afin de maximiser l'efficacité de la contribution des réseaux à la santé et au bien-être des Canadiens, il est essentiel de former du personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ) et de l'inciter à demeurer au pays. Le programme de formation proposé par le réseau doit apporter une plus-value aux initiatives de formation existantes au niveau universitaire et aider les étudiants à trouver leur place sur le marché du travail canadien (c.-à-d. partenaires du secteur privé, gouvernement, etc.). La nature multidisciplinaire et multisectorielle du réseau offrira des possibilités de mentorat et de formation uniques, ce qui aura pour effet de maximiser le maintien en poste et l'intégration du PHQ à tous les niveaux.

Les facteurs pris en considération sont :

  • l'aptitude à former des chercheurs de haut calibre dans des domaines de recherche et des secteurs technologiques essentiels à la productivité, à la croissance économique, à la politique publique et à la qualité de vie au Canada, et à les inciter à demeurer au pays;
  • les stratégies de formation qui exposent les stagiaires à toute la gamme des répercussions économiques, sociales et éthiques de la recherche du réseau en les faisant participer aux activités de la recherche initiale menant à la découverte jusqu'à son application qui apporte des avantages sociaux et économiques pratiques.

3. Fonctionnement en réseau et partenariats

Le réseau doit démonter qu'il a réuni les personnes et les organismes clés requis pour produire et mettre en œuvre des solutions à multiples facettes aux défis complexes auxquels font face les Canadiens.

Les facteurs pris en considération sont :

  • l'établissement de liens solides en matière de recherche et de développement technologique entre les participants des établissements universitaires nationaux et internationaux, des organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, des organismes non gouvernementaux et du secteur privé;
  • une approche multidisciplinaire et multisectorielle du programme de recherche;
  • la preuve que les bons partenaires et les bonnes personnes sont réunis pour aborder les questions proposées, y compris des partenaires de l'étranger le cas échéant;
  • l'optimisation des ressources par le partage d'équipements et d'installations de recherche, de bases de données et de personnel
  • l'existence, la nature et la portée des contributions des secteurs privé, public et sans but lucratif, ainsi que des partenaires internationaux, et la possibilité qu'elles augmentent à mesure que les travaux progressent.

4. Transfert de connaissances et exploitation de la technologie

On s'attend à ce que les réseaux et les centres apportent des avantages sociaux et économiques en assurant une circulation rapide des idées et des innovations des chercheurs aux récepteurs canadiens. On s'attend à ce que le candidat démontre que les activités appropriées seront entreprises et que les ressources appropriées seront affectées de sorte à maximiser ces avantages. 

Les facteurs pris en considération sont :

  • les nouveaux produits, processus ou services devant être commercialisés par des sociétés établies au Canada à la suite des activités du réseau et la mesure dans laquelle ceux-ci renforceront l'assise économique canadienne, accroîtront la productivité, et contribueront à la croissance économique et apporteront des avantages sociaux à long terme;
  • les innovations sociales devant être mises en œuvre à la suite des activités du réseau et la mesure dans laquelle elles contribueront à une politique publique plus efficace au Canada;
  • une collaboration efficace entre les secteurs privé, public et sans but lucratif dans le développement de la technologie et des marchés, et l'élaboration des politiques publiques;
  • la mesure dans laquelle le réseau aidera les partenaires à développer une solide capacité réceptrice pour exploiter les percées en recherche actuelles et futures;
  • la gestion et la protection efficaces de la propriété intellectuelle canadienne issue de la recherche financée par le réseau;
  • la mesure dans laquelle un homologue de l'étranger apporte des connaissances ou une technologie additionnelles ou complémentaires au Canada par l'entremise d'un partenaire international, lorsque les partenariats internationaux sont pertinents.

5. Gestion du réseau

Chaque réseau doit posséder une structure organisationnelle capable de gérer les fonctions de recherche et d'affaires d'un programme complexe multidisciplinaire et multiinstitutionnel.

Les facteurs pris en considération sont :

  • un conseil d'administration et une structure de gestion par comités chargés de veiller à l'adoption et à l'application des décisions financières et des politiques pertinentes;
  • une direction et des compétences adéquates au sein des fonctions de recherche et de gestion;
  • des mécanismes efficaces de planification de la recherche et de budgétisation
  • des stratégies de communication interne et externe efficaces.