Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Main Facts

Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence (BL-NCE) - 2009

 Main Facts

Goal

The BL-NCE program will establish up to five (5) new large scale collaborative networks in priority strategic research areas holding out long-term competitive advantage to consortia of Canadian firms, supported by networks of academic and government researchers. The BL-NCEs will differ from existing NCEs in that they will be for a shorter term, Business-Led and focused on identified business research needs.

Day-to-day administration of the BL-NCE Program is provided by the NCE Secretariat.

Priority Areas

There is no restriction on the Canadian industrial sector that can apply for a Network. However, as established in the S&T Strategy and the Budget 2007, the research undertaken by the proposed Networks must be in one or more of the five (5) priority research areas, namely:

  • Environmental science and technologies;
  • Natural resources and energy;
  • Health and related life sciences and technologies;
  • Information and communications technologies; and
  • Management, business or finance.

Eligible to apply

Not-for-profit consortia, that represent the interests of private sector enterprises with substantial R&D operations in Canada or potential to benefit from R&D (ideally comprising a mix of sizes of enterprises, research-providers and research-users). Must be incorporated at the time of funding.

Budget

The 2009 Competition Budget is $46M over a four (4) year period ($11M 2008-09, $11M 2009-10, $12M 2010-11, $12M 2011-12) and is expected to fund up to five (5) BL-NCE networks over this period at an approximate level of $2M per year.

Eligible costs

Up to 75% of eligible networking, administration and outreach costs in support of the operation of the Network and up to 50% of eligible direct costs of research and commercialization activity.

Cost-sharing

The balance of the funding is expected to be contributed by the private sector either as cash contributions or cash-equivalent in-kind contributions.

Timeline
Competition Launched November 6, 2007
LOI Deadline January 30, 2008
PSAB/Steering Committee Review March 2008
Invitation to Stage 2 April 2008
Full Proposal Deadline July 31, 2008
Expert Panel Site Visits September 2008
PSAB Recommendation/Steering Decision November 2008
Funding Released & New BL-NCEs Launched Early 2009

Application process

 

Stage 1 - Letter of Intent (LOI)

Applicants who have submitted high quality LOIs, as judged against the criteria, will be invited to submit a full proposal.

Stage 2 – Full proposal

Those invited to the full proposal stage will have 4 months to prepare the submission.

Review process

A Private Sector Advisory Board (PSAB) has been formed to review the LOIs and make recommendations to the NCE Steering Committee1 who will make the decision on those to invite. Full proposals will undergo a rigorous review including a full Expert panel review and consultation process, as well as being reviewed by the PSAB. The NCE Steering Committee will make the final funding decision.

Should you have any questions or inquiries regarding the Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence, please contact:

Christian Thivierge
Deputy Program Director
Tel.: 613-947-88943
Email: info@nce-rce.gc.ca

1 Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE) Steering Committee, is made up of the Deputy Minister of Industry Canada, the presidents of the three granting agencies-the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)-and the President of the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) (as an observer).

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Principaux faits

Réseaux de centres d'excellence dirigés par l'entreprise (RCE-E) - 2009

 Principaux faits

But

Le programme des RCE-E établira jusqu'à cinq nouveaux réseaux collaboratifs d'envergure dans des domaines de recherche stratégiques prioritaires devant procurer un avantage concurrentiel à des consortiums d'entreprises canadiennes appuyés par des chercheurs universitaires et gouvernementaux.

Les RCE-E différeront des RCE existants en ce sens que leur mandat sera d'une durée réduite, qu'ils seront dirigés par l'entreprise, et qu'ils viseront à répondre à des besoins de recherche définis par l'entreprise. L'administration courante du programme des RCE-E sera assurée par le Secrétariat des RCE.

Domaines prioritaires

Il n'y a aucune restriction du secteur industriel canadien quant à la présentation d'une demande pour un réseau. Toutefois, tel que stipulé dans la Stratégie des S-T et le Budget 2007, la recherche entreprise par les réseaux proposés doit correspondre à un ou plusieurs des cinq domaines de recherche prioritaires pour le Canada, à savoir:

  • les sciences et technologies environnementales;
  • les ressources naturelles et l'énergie;
  • les sciences et technologies de la santé et de la vie;
  • les technologies de l'information et des communications;
  • la gestion, l'administration et les finances.

Admissibilité

Des consortiums sans but lucratif qui représentent les intérêts d'entreprises du secteur privé reconnues pour leur investissement dans la R-D au Canada ou susceptibles de tirer profit de la R-D (idéalement un mélange d'entreprises de taille différente, de prestataires de recherche et d'utilisateurs de la recherche). Les consortiums doivent être constitués en société au moment du financement.

Budget

Le budget du concours 2009 est de 46 M$ sur une période de quatre ans (11 M$ en 2008 2009, 11 M$ en 2009 2010, 12 M$ en 2010-2011 et 12 M$ en 2011-2012). Ce budget doit permettre de financer jusqu'à cinq RCE-E pendant cette période à hauteur d'environ 2 M$ par année.

Coûts admissibles

Jusqu'à 75 % des coûts de fonctionnement en réseau, d'administration et de promotion admissibles qui sont engagés à l'appui du réseau, et jusqu'à 50 % des coûts directs admissibles au titre de la recherche et de la commercialisation.

Partage des coûts

Il est prévu que le reste du financement proviendra du secteur privé sous la forme d'apports directs en numéraire ou d'une aide en nature équivalente.

Calendrier
Lancement du concours 6 novembre 2007
Date limite pour la lettre d'intention 30 janvier 2008
Évaluation CCSP/Comité de direction Mars 2008
Invitation à la phase 2 Avril 2008
Date limite pour la proposition complète 31 juillet 2008
Visites des comités d'experts Septembre 2008
Recommandation CCSP/décision Comité de direction Novembre 2008
Financement débloqué/annonce des nouveaux RCE-E Début 2009

Processus de demande

 

Phase 1 – Lettre d'intention (LI)

Les candidats qui auront présenté des LI de grande qualité, selon les critères, seront invités à présenter une proposition complète.

Phase 2 – Proposition complète

Les candidats invités à présenter une proposition complète auront 4 mois pour préparer leur proposition.

Processus d'évaluation

Un comité consultatif du secteur privé (CCSP) a été formé pour examiner les LI et faire des recommandations au Comité de direction des RCE1, qui décidera des candidats à inviter. Les propositions complètes feront l'objet d'une évaluation rigoureuse, étant soumises à un processus d'examen et de consultation complet par un comité d'experts avant d'être revues par le CCSP. Le Comité de direction des RCE prendra la décision finale quant au financement.

Pour toute question ou demande de renseignements au sujet du concours des RCE-E, s'adresser à :

Christian Thivierge
Directeur adjoint de programme
Tél. : 613-947-8894
Courriel : info@nce-rce.gc.ca

1 Le Comité de direction des RCE est composé du sous-ministre d'Industrie Canada, des présidents des trois organismes subventionnaires (le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines), ainsi que du président de la Fondation canadienne pour l'innovation (à titre d'observateur).