What if we could stop violence before it started?

Promoting Relationships and Eliminating Violence Network - PREVNet (NCE-KM)

 

The challenge: Despite having a reputation of inclusion and tolerance, Canada ranks in the bottom third of 28 developed countries for preventing bullying and victimization. A big part of the challenge is that not all adults are equipped to teach kids how to create healthy relationships. Organizations that train adults in supervising and monitoring kids also need to include evidence-based relationship training.

The response: PREVNet, the Canadian Red Cross, Scouts Canada and Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada (BBBS) created the Healthy Relationships Training Module (HRTM). These workshops, exercises, handbooks and evaluation tools have reached more than 1.1 million youth in Canada. HRTM was adapted and implemented in Alberta to prevent domestic violence before it starts. Work is now underway to adapt HRTM for other regions, including Indigenous communities in Northern Alberta.

The need for an evidence-based ‘101’ on Healthy Relationships in Alberta is great, and our partnership with PREVNet to scale the HRTM across the province helps us to meet that need by getting people to talk about and start practicing skills that are critical to supporting youth healthy relationships. Prof. Lana Wells, Project Leader, Shift: The Project to End Domestic Violence, University of Calgary

Et si nous pouvions empêcher l’expression de la violence?

La promotion des relations et l’élimination de la violence - PREVNet (RCE-MC)

 

Le défi : Malgré sa réputation d’intégration et de tolérance, le Canada se classe dans le tiers inférieur des 28 pays développés pour ce qui est de la prévention de l’intimidation et de la victimisation. Une grande partie du problème tient au fait que les adultes ne sont pas tous en mesure d’apprendre aux enfants comment créer des relations saines. Les organisations qui leur offrent une formation en supervision et en surveillance des enfants doivent aussi leur offrir des cours basés sur des faits.

La réponse : PREVNet, la Croix-Rouge canadienne, Scouts Canada et Grands Frères Grandes Sœurs du Canada ont créé le Module de formation sur les relations saines. Ces ateliers, exercices, manuels et outils d’évaluation ont été offerts à plus de 1,1 million de jeunes Canadiens. Le module a été adapté et mis en œuvre en Alberta pour prévenir la violence familiale avant qu’elle se manifeste. Des travaux sont en cours pour l’adapter à d’autres régions, notamment les communautés autochtones du nord de l’Alberta.

L’Alberta a grand besoin d’un « cours 101 » sur les relations saines basé sur des faits. Le partenariat que nous avons établi avec PREVNet pour adapter ce module dans l’ensemble de la province nous permet de répondre à ce besoin. En effet, le module incite les gens à parler du problème et à mettre en pratique les techniques essentielles à l’établissement de relations saines entre les jeunes. Professeure Lana Wells, chef de projet, Shift: The Project to End Domestic Violence, University of Calgary