What if we could protect whales from shipping activities?

Ocean Networks Canada Innovation Centre - ONC Innovation Centre (CECR)

 
Photo credit: Joan Lopez

The challenge: Whales, dolphins and porpoises off British Columbia’s coast face many threats, including underwater noise from vessels. The Vancouver Fraser Port Authority (VFPA) facilitates Canada’s trade in a way that ensures safe movement of goods, protection of the environment and consideration of local communities. Through its Enhancing Cetacean Habitat and Observation (ECHO) Program, the VFPA is working with the marine transportation industry, government agencies, First Nations individuals, conservation and environmental groups, and scientists to find ways to mitigate the impacts of shipping activities on at-risk whales.

The response: With funding from the ECHO Program and Transport Canada, the University of Victoria’s Ocean Networks Canada and JASCO Applied Sciences have installed an underwater listening system (ULS) on ONC’s research platform in the Strait of Georgia. The ULS is part of the Smart Ocean SystemsTM portfolio of technologies being commercialized by the ONC Innovation Centre. Combined with ONC’s Oceans 2.0 data management platform, the ULS is helping the ECHO Program better understand the noise levels of incoming ships. The data will help inform potential vessel noise reduction solutions and may support the development of additional underwater noise criteria for VFPA’s EcoAction incentive program, which provides harbour due rate discounts for quieter ships.

ONC’s seafloor infrastructure combined with JASCO Applied Systems’ underwater listening system is generating critical data that will help inform vessel noise reduction solutions for vessels calling the Port of Vancouver, and other ports around the world. Orla Robinson, Program Manager, Enhanced Cetacean Habitat and Observation (ECHO) Program, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority

Et si nous pouvions protéger les baleines des activités de navigation?

Ocean Networks Canada Innovation Centre - ONC Innovation Centre (CECR)

 
Mention de la source : Joan Lopez

Le défi : Les baleines, les dauphins et les marsouins qui vivent au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique sont exposés à de nombreuses menaces, notamment le bruit sous-marin produit par les navires. L’Administration portuaire Vancouver Fraser (APVF) facilite les échanges commerciaux du Canada en assurant le déplacement sécuritaire des biens, la protection de l’environnement et la prise en compte des communautés locales. Par l’entremise du programme d’amélioration de l’habitat et de l’observation des cétacés (Enhancing Cetacean Habitat and Observation – ECHO), elle travaille avec l’industrie du transport maritime, des organismes gouvernementaux, des Autochtones, des groupes de préservation et de protection de l’environnement et des scientifiques, afin de trouver des moyens d’atténuer l’incidence des activités de navigation sur les espèces de baleine en péril.

La réponse : Grâce à des fonds fournis par le programme ECHO et Transports Canada, l’Ocean Networks Canada (ONC) de la University of Victoria et JASCO Applied Sciences ont installé un système d’écoute sous-marine sur la plateforme de recherche de l’ONC dans le détroit de Georgia. Ce système fait partie du portefeuille des technologies Smart Ocean SystemsMD qui est commercialisé par l’Innovation Centre de l’ONC. Utilisé en combinaison avec la plateforme de gestion des données Oceans 2.0 de l’ONC, il aide les intervenants du programme ECHO à mieux comprendre les niveaux de bruit émis par les navires entrants. Les données contribueront à documenter les éventuelles solutions qui réduiront le bruit des navires et pourraient favoriser l’élaboration d’autres critères liés au bruit sous-marin pour le programme incitatif ÉcoAction de l’APVF, qui offre aux navires plus silencieux des réductions sur les redevances portuaires.

Grâce à l’infrastructure de fond marin de l’ONC et au système d’écoute sous marine de JASCO Applied Systems, on obtient des données cruciales qui documenteront les solutions visant à réduire le bruit des navires qui font escale à Vancouver et ailleurs dans le monde. Orla Robinson, gestionnaire de programme, Programme d’amélioration de l’habitat et de l’observation des cétacés (ECHO), Administration portuaire Vancouver Fraser