What if Arctic development were safe, sustainable, and inclusive?

Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network - MEOPAR (NCE)

 

The challenge: Several countries are preparing for the opening of Arctic waterways caused by climate change, and the resulting opportunities for resource development and shipping. This will test Canada’s safety and security, and challenge northern communities.

The response: The Canadian Coast Guard, the Canadian Hydrographic Service and Transport Canada have partnered with MEOPAR to implement the Northern Marine Transportation Corridors Initiative, which will deliver navigational aids, infrastructure, and emergency response services along Arctic waterways. Five Inuit communities are working with a research team to produce practical information so government policymakers can manage Arctic shipping in a way that respects local people and encourages sustainable economic growth. With support from MEOPAR and Irving Shipbuilding, they are identifying the major risks and opportunities of increased shipping activity for local communities.

Almost all communities in Nunavut are coastal and we rely on these waters 365 days a year for travel and for food. These corridors are like building a road through my farm, and you wouldn’t do that anywhere else in Canada without first asking where you should build that road. Natasha Simonee, Community Facilitator for Project

Et si le développement de l’Arctique était sécuritaire, durable et inclusif?

Marine Environmental Observation Prediction and Response Network - MEOPAR (RCE)

 

Le défi : Plusieurs pays se préparent à profiter de l’ouverture de voies navigables dans l’Arctique en raison du changement climatique et des possibilités liées à la mise en valeur et à l’expédition des ressources qui en découleront. Cette nouvelle situation mettra à l’épreuve la sureté et la sécurité du Canada et interpellera les communautés nordiques.

La réponse : La Garde côtière canadienne, le Service hydrographique du Canada et Transports Canada ont établi un partenariat avec MEOPAR pour mettre en œuvre l’Initiative des corridors de transport maritime dans le Nord qui permettra d’offrir des aides à la navigation, une infrastructure et des services d’intervention d’urgence le long des voies navigables de l’Arctique. Cinq communautés inuites travaillent avec une équipe de recherche afin de produire des renseignements concrets pour que les décideurs du gouvernement puissent gérer le transport maritime dans l’Arctique de façon à respecter les peuples locaux et à favoriser la croissance économique durable. Avec l’aide de MEOPAR et d’Irving Shipbuilding, elles cernent les principaux risques et possibilités que représente l’intensification de la navigation pour les communautés locales.

Au Nunavut, presque toutes les communautés sont installées au bord de la mer et ont besoin de ces eaux 365 jours par année pour se déplacer et s’alimenter. Quand vous ouvrez ces corridors, c’est comme si vous construisiez une route à travers ma ferme. Vous ne feriez cela nulle part ailleurs au Canada sans d’abord demander où devrait passer cette route. Natasha Simonee, animatrice communautaire pour le projet