What if we could identify promising drugs faster?

Canadian Glycomics Network - GlycoNet (NCE)

 
GlycoNet network investigator Dr. Ratmir Derda. Photo credit: John Ulan for the Faculty of Science, University of Alberta

The challenge: Developing a new drug starts with identifying the molecule – or target – involved in a disease. Even with high throughput screening, this process is expensive, high-risk and time-consuming. GlycoNet, in partnership with the Alberta Glycomics Centre (AGC) and the Derda Research Group at the University of Alberta, had developed a way to screen millions, even billions, of molecules in just 48 hours.

The response: Launched in January 2017, GlycoNet’s 48-Hour Discovery service opens new opportunities for drug discovery by enabling scientists to search for even more molecules. Clients from academia and industry mail their protein to GlycoNet, and the service leverages the Derda group’s expertise in molecular biology, informatics and biochemistry, as well as its partnership with Ferring Pharmaceuticals. The service also offers opportunities for long-term partnership with the AGC and GlycoNet’s network of world-leading researchers, government laboratories and industry partners.

The faster you can identify that target, the faster you can eventually optimize it and turn it into a therapeutic or diagnostic that goes into the clinic and into the market to help people. Dr. John Dwyer, Senior Scientist, Protein Engineering, Ferring Pharmaceuticals

Et si nous pouvions repérer plus rapidement les médicaments prometteurs?

Canadian Glycomics Network - GlycoNet (RCE)

 
Le chercheur du réseau GlycoNet, Ratmir Derda. Mention de la source : John Ulan pour la faculté des sciences, University of Alberta

Le défi : La création d’un nouveau médicament commence par l’identification de la molécule – ou cible – en cause dans une maladie. Même avec une technique de criblage très efficace, ce processus est couteux, risqué et chronophage. GlycoNet, en partenariat avec l’Alberta Glycomics Centre (AGC) et le groupe de recherche de M. Derda de la University of Alberta, a trouvé une façon de cribler des millions, et même des milliards, de molécules en 48 heures.

La réponse : Lancé en janvier 2017, le service 48-Hour Discovery de GlycoNet ouvre de nouvelles possibilités pour la découverte de médicaments en permettant aux scientifiques de chercher encore plus de molécules. Les clients des universités et de l’industrie envoient leurs protéines par la poste à GlycoNet qui fait appel à l’expertise du groupe de M. Derda en biologie moléculaire, en informatique et en biochimie, ainsi qu’au partenariat qu’il a établi avec Ferring Pharmaceuticals. Grâce à ce service, il est aussi possible d’établir un partenariat à long terme avec l’AGC et le réseau des chercheurs, des laboratoires gouvernementaux et des partenaires industriels de calibre mondial de GlycoNet.

Plus vite vous identifiez la cible, plus vite vous pouvez l’optimiser et la transformer en médicament ou en diagnostic qui pourra être utilisé en clinique et lancé sur le marché afin d’aider les gens. John Dwyer, scientifique principal, Génie des protéines, Ferring Pharmaceuticals