What if cleaner and greener chemistry were even more widely deployed?

GreenCentre Canada - GCC (CECR)

 

The challenge: Canada’s clean tech sector has generated more than 55,000 jobs with about 800 mostly small or medium-sized companies. But these companies need access to industry networks, capital, market data, and top-notch lab facilities to reach their full potential.

The response: GreenCentre Canada’s two state-of-the art labs, and its team of experienced chemists, commercial experts, and business professionals, work closely with entrepreneurs, industry leaders, investors, and researchers to de-risk and scale up green chemistry technologies. This includes products such as a transparent windshield film developed by Alchemy, a start-up founded by a group of University of Waterloo nanotechnology engineering graduates. With GreenCentre’s help, ExoShield films will do an even better job at preventing stone chips, improving visibility, blocking UV radiation, preventing frost, and reducing cabin heating. The result: better efficiency for conventional and electric vehicles.

GreenCentre Canada has the expertise to change the underlying chemistry of the film which will reduce the cost, while keeping the windshield completely transparent. Our goal is to have a prototype by June of 2017 and then work further with GreenCentre to optimize the technology so that it performs exactly how we want it to before going into production and validation. Chong Shen, Chief Science Officer and Co-founder, Alchemy

Et si une chimie plus propre et verte était déployée encore plus largement?

GreenCentre Canada - GCC (CECR)

 

Le défi : Le secteur canadien de la technologie propre, formé principalement de quelque 800 petites ou moyennes entreprises, a généré plus de 55 000 emplois. Mais ces entreprises doivent avoir accès à des réseaux industriels, à du capital, à des données sur le marché et à des laboratoires d’excellente qualité pour atteindre leur plein potentiel.

La réponse : L’équipe de GreenCentre Canada – composée de chimistes expérimentés, d’experts commerciaux et de professionnels du milieu des affaires – travaille en étroite collaboration avec des entrepreneurs, des leaders du secteur industriel, des investisseurs et des chercheurs dans deux laboratoires de pointe, afin de réduire le risque des technologies de la chimie verte et de les mettre à l’échelle. Mentionnons par exemple la pellicule de parebrise transparente créée par Alchemy, une nouvelle entreprise fondée par un groupe d’étudiants diplômés en génie de la nanotechnologie de la University of Waterloo. Grâce à l’aide de GreenCentre, la pellicule ExoShield améliorera la prévention des éclats dus aux pierres, la visibilité, le blocage des rayons UV, la prévention du gel et la réduction de la chaleur dans l’habitacle. Au bout du compte, elle accroitra l’efficacité des véhicules classiques et électriques.

GreenCentre Canada a l’expertise requise pour modifier la composition chimique de la pellicule, ce qui en réduira le cout tout en assurant la transparence complète du parebrise. Notre but est de construire le prototype d’ici juin 2017, puis de poursuivre notre travail avec GreenCentre pour optimiser la technologie afin que son rendement corresponde exactement à nos attentes avant la production et la validation. Chong Shen, conseiller scientifique principal et cofondateur, Alchemy