What if Biofuels were available at more airports?

Green Aviation Research and Development Network – GARDN (BL-NCE)

 
Photo credit: Brian Losito, Air Canada

The challenge: More than 190 countries adopted an agreement in 2016 to curb rising emissions from international air travel. Through collaborative research projects led by GARDN, the Canadian aerospace industry now needs to solve the logistics of introducing aviation biofuels at major Canadian airports.

The solution: Air Canada is partnering with 13 organizations, including GARDN and BioFuelNet, on a three-year collaborative project to introduce 400,000 litres of sustainable aviation biofuel (biojet) into a shared fuel system. Led by Canada's Biojet Supply Chain Initiative (CBSCI), the project at Montréal-Trudeau Airport is a critical step towards achieving the industry’s longer-term goals of carbon neutral growth starting in 2020 and a 50% reduction in emissions by 2050, relative to 2005 levels. CBSCI also aims to boost the Canadian bioproduct industry by creating a sustainable supply chain of biofuel.

The CBSCI project will contribute significantly by validating the country’s supply chain elements and generating hands-on experience. The long-term support of partners like GARDN will be key to helping Air Canada and the airline industry remain competitive in a carbon constrained world. Myrka Manzo, Manager, Environmental Affairs, Air Canada

Et si les biocarburants étaient offerts à un plus grand nombre d’aéroports?

Groupement aéronautique de recherche et développement en environnement – GARDN (RCE-E)

 
Photo : Brian Losito, Air Canada

Le défi : En 2016, plus de 190 pays ont signé une entente pour limiter les émissions provenant du transport aérien international. Dans le cadre de projets de recherche coopérative menés par le GARDN, l’industrie aérospatiale canadienne doit maintenant régler les problèmes de logistique associés à l’introduction de biocarburants pour l’aviation dans les principaux aéroports du Canada.

La solution : Air Canada collabore avec 13 organisations, notamment le GARDN et BioFuelNet, à un projet de recherche coopérative de trois ans pour introduire 400 000 litres de biocarburant pour l’aviation durable dans un circuit de carburant mixte. Dirigé par l’Initiative canadienne de la chaine d’approvisionnement en biocarburant (ICCAB), le projet qui se déroule à l’aéroport Montréal-Trudeau représente un pas crucial vers l’atteinte des buts à long terme de l’industrie : croissance neutre en carbone à partir de 2020 et réduction de 50 % des émissions d’ici 2050 par rapport aux niveaux de 2005. En outre, l’ICCAB vise à stimuler l’industrie canadienne des bioproduits en créant une chaine d’approvisionnement durable en biocarburant.

L’ICCAB constituera une importante contribution parce qu’il permettra de valider les éléments de la chaine d’approvisionnement canadienne et d’acquérir une expérience pratique. L’appui à long terme de partenaires comme le GARDN sera essentiel à la compétitivité d’Air Canada et de l’industrie du transport aérien dans un monde où il faut réduire les émissions de carbone. Myrka Manzo, gestionnaire, Affaires environnementales, Air Canada