What if we could slow the progress of Alzheimer’s disease?

Centre for Imaging Technology Commercialization - CIMTEC (CECR)

 

The challenge: KalGene Pharmaceuticals Inc. and the National Research Council discovered how to deliver drugs past the blood-brain barrier – a critical obstacle to treating Alzheimer’s and other neurological diseases. Early patient studies showed significant benefits. But KalGene and the NRC needed an experienced partner to accelerate this breakthrough from therapeutic concept to a validated preclinical drug.

The response: Under a multi-year agreement, KalGene is benefiting from CIMTEC’s extensive project and clinical study management services as well as its close connections to world-leading research labs and scientists across Canada. CIMTEC’s brain imaging services and analysis also provided quantitative evidence of the effectiveness of KalGene’s therapy. The centre is currently helping KalGene manage a larger clinical trial with patients, which is expected to get underway in 2017 at the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital.

CIMTEC is an ideal example of a commercialization centre fulfilling its mandate. CIMTEC’s team was able to understand where we are coming from, what we require and how they could apply their significant knowledge and expertise toward our success. Dr. T. Nathan Yoganathan, President and Chief Science Officer, KalGene Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Et si nous pouvions ralentir la progression de la maladie d’Alzheimer?

Centre de commercialisation pour la technologie de l’image - CIMTEC (CECR)

 

Le défi : KalGene Pharmaceuticals Inc. et le Conseil national de recherches Canada (CNRC) ont découvert comment administrer des médicaments en franchissant la barrière hémato-encéphalique – un obstacle important au traitement de la maladie d’Alzheimer et d’autres maladies neurologiques. Les premières études cliniques ont montré que ces techniques comportent d’importants avantages. Mais KalGene et le CNRC avaient besoin d’un partenaire expérimenté pour accélérer le passage de cette percée de la phase du concept thérapeutique à la phase du médicament préclinique validé.

La réponse : Dans le cadre d’une entente pluriannuelle, KalGene profite des nombreux services de gestion de projets et d’études cliniques offerts par CIMTEC, ainsi que des liens étroits que le centre a établis avec des laboratoires de recherche et des scientifiques de calibre mondial des quatre coins du Canada. En outre, les services d’imagerie cérébrale et les analyses fournis par CIMTEC ont permis d’obtenir des preuves quantitatives de l’efficacité de la thérapie de KalGene. À l’heure actuelle, le centre aide l’entreprise à gérer la réalisation d’un essai clinique plus important avec des patients, qui devrait commencer en 2017 à l’Institut et hôpital neurologiques de Montréal.

CIMTEC est l’exemple parfait d’un centre de commercialisation qui remplit son mandat. L’équipe du centre a compris d’où nous venions, ce dont nous avions besoin et comment elle pouvait utiliser ses nombreuses connaissances et sa grande expertise pour nous aider à réussir. T. Nathan Yoganathan, président et conseiller scientifique principal, KalGene Pharmaceuticals Inc.