What if companies stayed and grew in Canada?

Accel-Rx Health Sciences Accelerator – Accel-Rx (CECR)

 

The challenge: The World Bank ranks Canada the second easiest place in the world to start a business. But a chronic lack of capital and seasoned managers has made it difficult for many young firms to scale into globally competitive companies. As a result, too many promising tech companies, particularly those with long product cycles, have failed or been sold to foreign interests—often resulting in both the intellectual property and jobs leaving Canada.

The response: Accel-Rx has partnered with the Business Development Bank of Canada to help young companies bring new pharmaceuticals, diagnostic treatments and medical devices to market. It provides flexible investment options at the seed stage to create investment-ready ventures equipped to become the next generation of anchor companies. To date, Accel-Rx has invested in six companies, including Zucara Therapeutics Inc., which is developing the first once-daily therapeutic to prevent low blood sugar in patients with diabetes. Zucara is seeking Series A funding with the expectation of starting clinical trials in 2018.

This important funding ($525,000) from Accel-Rx, CDRD and MaRS Innovation provides the runway for the company to advance our program to the next level, and position us for larger rounds of investment. Michael Midmer, CEO, Zucara Therapeutics Inc.

Et si les entreprises restaient au Canada et s’y développaient?

Accel-Rx Health Sciences Accelerator – Accel-Rx (CECR)

 

Le défi : La Banque mondiale classe le Canada au deuxième rang des pays où il est le plus facile de lancer une entreprise. Mais en raison d’un manque chronique de capitaux et de gestionnaires chevronnés, de nombreuses jeunes entreprises ont eu de la difficulté à devenir concurrentielles à l’échelle mondiale. C’est pourquoi de trop nombreuses entreprises technologiques prometteuses, particulièrement celles dont le cycle de production est long, ont échoué ou ont été vendues à des intérêts étrangers, ce qui a souvent entrainé la perte de propriété intellectuelle et d’emplois pour le Canada.

La réponse : Accel-Rx a établi un partenariat avec la Banque de développement du Canada pour aider les jeunes entreprises à lancer sur le marché leurs nouveaux produits pharmaceutiques, traitements diagnostiques et appareils médicaux. Il leur offre des options d’investissement souples à l’étape du prédémarrage pour qu’elles puissent devenir les entreprises d’attache de la prochaine génération prêtes à recevoir des investissements. Jusqu’à maintenant, il a investi dans six entreprises, notamment Zucara Therapeutics Inc., qui est en train de créer le premier médicament que les personnes diabétiques pourront prendre une fois par jour pour prévenir l’hypoglycémie. Zucara cherche actuellement du financement de série A pour commencer les essais cliniques en 2018.

Grâce aux fonds substantiels (525 000 $) fournis par Accel Rx, le Centre for Drug Research and Development et MaRS Innovation, notre entreprise peut faire progresser son programme en vue d’obtenir des investissements plus appréciables. Michael Midmer, président et chef de la direction, Zucara Therapeutics Inc.