What if... breakthrough water treatment tech gets the right support to grow a company in Canada?

GreenCentre Canada (CECR)

 
Amy Holland, Product Development Scientist at GreenCentre Canada and Forward Water Technologies, shows how water recovered from a hydraulic fracturing operation—called flowback water—can be turned into clean water using a made-in-Canada green treatment process.

Forward Water Technologies is taking advantage of a novel commercialization approach pioneered by GreenCentre Canada that has cut two years off its development cycle and saved at least $2.5 million in research costs. GCC’s partnership with the Xerox Research Centre of Canada in Mississauga provided FWT with support beyond the reach of most start-ups, from process engineering to scale-up, pilot testing and developmental support. FWT is currently building a mini-plant in Kingston, Ontario to demonstrate to investors—using strong engineering principles—that its technology is viable from both an operational and cost perspective. FWT has pioneered an inexpensive, low-energy de-ionization process that uses “switchable” salt – a green chemistry breakthrough – to purify water from difficult-to-treat wastewaters from power generation and manufacturing.

Through GreenCentre Canada and their partnership with the Xerox Research Centre of Canada, our company has access to top tier scientists, subject matter experts and engineering resources that I can apply to this project as I need them. Those types of investments help to advance the technology, protect the intellectual property and prove the economics which makes us a lot more attractive to potential investors.Howie Honeyman, CEO, Forward Water Technologies

Et si... une entreprise était lancée au Canada grâce au financement d’une technologie de traitement de l’eau révolutionnaire?

GreenCentre Canada (CECR)

 
Amy Holland, chercheuse en développement de produits au GreenCentre Canada et chez Forward Water Technologies, montre comment l’eau provenant d’une installation de fracturation hydraulique – appelée l’eau de reflux – peut être transformée en eau propre à l’aide d’un procédé de traitement vert inventé au Canada.

La nouvelle stratégie de commercialisation lancée par GreenCentre Canada (GCC) a été profitable pour l’entreprise Forward Water Technologies (FWT) qui a réduit de deux ans son cycle de développement et d’au moins 2,5 millions de dollars ses coûts de recherche. Grâce au partenariat établi par GCC avec le Xerox Research Centre of Canada, à Mississauga, FWT a reçu une aide – depuis l’étude des procédés et la mise à l’échelle jusqu’aux essais pilotes et au soutien pour le développement – que la plupart des nouvelles entreprises n’ont pas. Actuellement, FWT construit une mini-usine à Kingston, en Ontario, pour montrer aux investisseurs – à l’aide de solides principes d’ingénierie – que sa technologie est viable, tant sur le plan de l’exploitation que sur celui des coûts. L’entreprise a lancé un procédé de désionisation économique qui utilise peu d’énergie et qui a recours à du sel « interchangeable » – une percée de la chimie verte – pour purifier les eaux usées difficiles à traiter qui proviennent des secteurs de la production d’énergie électrique et de la fabrication.

Grâce à GreenCentre Canada et au partenariat qu’il a établi avec le Xerox Research Centre of Canada, notre entreprise a accès, au fur et à mesure de ses besoins, aux meilleurs scientifiques, experts et ressources techniques pour réaliser ce projet. Les investissements de ce genre contribuent à faire progresser la technologie, à protéger la propriété intellectuelle et à prouver la valeur économique, ce qui est très attirant pour d’éventuels investisseurs.Howie Honeyman, chef de la direction, Forward Water Technologies