What if... a virus could cure cancer?

BioCanRx (NCE)

 
BioCanRx investigators developing and testing the potential new therapy (from left): Brian Lichty, McMaster University; Dr. Derek Jonker, The Ottawa Hospital; David Stojdl, CHEO Research Institute; and John Bell, Scientific Director, BioCanRx.

More than 50 Canadians with lung cancer will participate in a world-first trial that combines two viruses with an antibody therapy to strengthen and train the body’s immune system to find and kill cancer cells. BioCanRx is providing strategic funding to support the trial and pharmaceutical-grade virus manufacturing facilities in Ontario. A new biotech company, Turnstone Biologics Inc., has hired a veteran biotech executive and raised $11.3 million in Series A funding (with follow-on capital committed in excess of $20 million) with a Toronto venture capital firm to test the vaccine platform, which has been shown to shrink tumours in animals and in human tumour samples. Clinical trials at multiple sites across Canada are targeted to begin by the end of 2016. Other partners include the Ontario Institute of Cancer Research, a major pharmaceutical company and the Ontario Lung Association.

BioCanRx has been an invaluable partner in helping the founding scientists and academic institutions advance the technology to a point where investors could be brought in. We look forward to continue working with BioCanRx as we begin to test this combination therapy, which could provide new hope to patients with lung cancer, but also prove useful for all forms of cancer.Sammy Farah, CEO, Turnstone Biologics Inc.

Et si... un virus pouvait éliminer le cancer?

BioCanRx (RCE)

 
Les chercheurs de BioCanRx élaborent et mettent à l’essai un nouveau traitement (à partir de la gauche) : Brian Lichty, McMaster University; Derek Jonker, L’Hôpital d’Ottawa; David Stojdl, Institut de recherche du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario; et John Bell, directeur scientifique, BioCanRx.

Plus de 50 Canadiens atteints du cancer du poumon participeront à un premier essai mondial qui combine deux virus et la thérapie par les anticorps pour renforcer le système immunitaire et l’entraîner à trouver et à éliminer les cellules cancéreuses. BioCanRx fournit des fonds stratégiques pour financer l’essai et les installations ontariennes de fabrication de virus de qualité pharmaceutique. Une nouvelle entreprise de biotechnologie, Turnstone Biologics Inc., a embauché un cadre expérimenté en biotechnologie et obtenu un financement de série A d’une valeur de 11,3 millions de dollars (et un engagement pour un capital de suivi d’une valeur de plus de 20 millions de dollars) auprès d’une société torontoise de capital-risque pour tester un vaccin qui a réduit la taille de tumeurs chez les animaux et dans des échantillons de tumeurs humaines. L’objectif est de commencer les essais cliniques à de nombreux endroits au Canada d’ici la fin de 2016. Parmi les autres partenaires, mentionnons l’Ontario Institute of Cancer Research, une grosse entreprise pharmaceutique et l’Association pulmonaire de l’Ontario.

BioCanRx a été un précieux partenaire qui a aidé les scientifiques et les établissements postsecondaires à l’origine de la technologie à la faire progresser suffisamment pour que des investisseurs s’y intéressent. Nous nous réjouissons de continuer à travailler avec BioCanRx dans le cadre de l’essai de ce traitement combiné, qui pourrait redonner espoir aux patients qui souffrent du cancer du poumon et même d’autres formes de cancer.Sammy Farah, chef de la direction, Turnstone Biologics Inc.