Why moms' birthing choices matter

Allergy, Genes and Environment Network – AllerGen (NCE)

 

Caesareans are a costly delivery option for hospitals that could also put babies at higher risk of illness later in life. A 2013 study, using data and fecal samples from the AllerGen-funded Canadian Healthy Infant Longitudinal Development (CHILD) Study, found that C-sections and not drinking enough breast milk may deprive babies of the healthy gut bacteria needed to fight off asthma, allergies and other lifelong diseases. The research can trace its roots to a 2006 AllerGen event where University of Alberta epidemiologist Dr. Anita Kozyrskyj met Dr. James Scott, an expert in microbiology and DNA sequencing at the University of Toronto. Their discussion planted the seeds for this ground breaking collaboration, which could influence health policies throughout Canada and internationally.

We want parents and physicians to realize that the decisions they make regarding C-sections and breastfeeding can affect the infants’ gut bacteria—and that can have potentially lifelong effects on their children. Dr. Meghan Azad, AllerGen Trainee, University of Alberta
These issues are of direct relevance to pregnant women and health practitioners and should be considered when choices such as elective caesarean delivery and other interventions are discussed.Dr. Rob Knight, Professor, BioFrontiers Institute, University of Colorado

L’importance des choix de la mère à l’accouchement

Allergy, Genes and Environment Network (RCE)

 

Les césariennes représentent une méthode d’accouchement qui est coûteuse pour les hôpitaux et qui peut aussi exposer les bébés à un risque plus élevé d’avoir des maladies plus tard. Selon une étude réalisée en 2013 à l’aide des données et des échantillons de matières fécales provenant de l’étude canadienne sur le développement longitudinal du nourrisson en santé financée par le Allergy, Genes and Environment Network (AllerGen), l’accouchement par césarienne et le fait de ne pas boire suffisamment de lait maternel priveraient les bébés des bactéries intestinales saines nécessaires pour lutter contre l’asthme, les allergies et d’autres maladies qui durent toute la vie. L’origine de ces travaux de recherche peut être attribuée à l’activité organisée par AllerGen en 2006, au cours de laquelle l’épidémiologiste de la University of Alberta Anita Kozyrskyj a rencontré un expert en microbiologie et en séquençage de l’ADN de la University of Toronto, James Scott. Leur discussion a jeté les fondements de cette collaboration inédite, qui pourrait influer sur les politiques de santé partout au Canada et dans le monde.

Nous voulons que les parents et les médecins soient conscients que les décisions qu’ils prennent au sujet des césariennes et de l’allaitement peuvent avoir un effet sur les bactéries intestinales du nourrisson et, possiblement, des effets à long terme sur leurs enfants. Meghan Azad, stagiaire à AllerGen, University of Alberta
Ces questions concernent directement les femmes enceintes et les professionnels de la santé. Il faut en tenir compte dans les discussions sur les césariennes de convenance et d’autres interventions. Rob Knight, professeur, BioFrontiers Institute, University of Colorado