Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Bringing low-cost, long-lasting roads to India and Canada

Residents living in a rural village outside of Bengaluru, India can now get their produce to market year-round thanks to a Canadian innovation that could become the gold standard for future road construction. In 2015, Canadian and Indian collaborators came together to build Thondebavi’s first paved road, using a new super thin, low-carbon pavement that lasts longer and costs less than conventional roads made from concrete.

This “living laboratory” is spearheaded by the India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC-IMPACTS), in partnership with Stantec Inc. (Edmonton), Starmass Environment Technologies (Ottawa), the University of British Columbia and the University of Alberta, along with Indian collaborators ACC Limited, Fosroc Chemicals, Reliance Industries, Stewols India and the National Institute of Engineering.

“During the monsoon months the village became completely unwalkable, let alone driveable, making it very difficult for residents to get their produce to market and to bring goods into the community,” says Nemy Banthia, CEO and Scientific Director of IC-IMPACTS.

Completed in October 2015, the 650-metre road connects to an existing road that feeds into a highway network linking to other towns and cities. In addition to providing the village with a critical transportation link, the road will also supply researchers and engineers with data on the pavement’s performance over the next five years. The road is comprised of three different technologies in three different segments, with each using a different thickness and proportion of materials.

Common to each section are super thin pavement technologies that significantly reduce the amount of cement needed in the construction of the road. Cement production is one of the single biggest contributors to greenhouse gas emissions, with each ton generating a matching ton of carbon emissions. To create a more sustainable alternative, about 60% of this new road is made of locally sourced fly ash, a by-product of the thermal power industry that is often disposed of in lagoons, landfills and abandoned quarries. Some reports indicate that only 20% of the fly ash is recycled or reused in India.

“This represents a major improvement over existing roads,” says Dr. Banthia. “It is about one third the thickness of a traditional road in India, has a smaller carbon footprint, costs less, is more sustainable and lasts longer.”

The new road is also reinforced with innovative fibres that increase its strength and durability. IC-IMPACTS worked with Reliance Industries of India, the world’s largest producer of polyester, to develop these fibers.

Roads in India can start deteriorating within two years due to poor materials, intense heat, poor drainage and heavy rains. Tests supported by IC-IMPACTS suggest this new design will last at least 15 years.

One section uses high-strength concrete materials, some of which were developed by researchers with Concrete Canada, an early Network of Centres of Excellence (1989-1998). The concrete is four times stronger than what is currently used throughout India.

Another section uses regular strength concrete reinforced with fibres to improve its performance. The third segment combines these two technologies with new fibres that have been developed at the University of British Columbia.

“The use of Canadian pavement technologies to support road improvement in (the State of) Karnataka is a great example of how Canada can support India’s visionary initiatives towards building smart cities and infrastructure,” says Stanley Gomes, Acting Consul General, Consulate General of Canada in Bengaluru.

This pavement project has already resulted in partnerships with two other states in India, which plan to build roads in 2016 with designs supplied by IC-IMPACTS. One road in the State of Haryana will be two kilometres long and a second in Madhya Pradesh will replace a five kilometre stretch of highway.

India is in the midst of a major road construction boom to meet its need for 2.4 million kilometres of rural roads. Dr. Banthia says this represents “a huge opportunity” for Canadian companies, including civil engineering firms such as Stantec, which designed the pavement for Thondebavi.

“The Stantec team has been privileged to be able work with the many excellent researchers and professionals that are part of the IC-IMPACTS team. Our partnership has provided opportunities to showcase Stantec’s specialized engineering capabilities and to gain contacts with Indian researchers, consulting firms and government agencies,” said Reed Ellis, Vice President, Bridges, Stantec, a 15,000-person engineering and design firm that began collaborating with IC-IMPACTS in 2013.

In addition to holding up under heavy rains and heat, tests show the technologies also perform well in cold climates where roads are under stress from extreme freezing and thawing, and frost heaving which can crack road surfaces. A new IC-IMPACTS project will construct high-tech pavement for a school on the Lubicon First Nations community north of Edmonton.

“These demonstration projects in India and Canada will provide the evidence governments need to invest in new road technologies that are more durable and sustainable than existing roads,” says Dr. Banthia. “It represents a great opportunity for Canada to turn innovative technologies into real-world applications that will make a significant difference in the lives of so many.”

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Construire des routes durables à faible coût en Inde et au Canada

Les habitants d’un village rural situé près de Bengaluru (Inde) peuvent maintenant apporter leurs produits au marché toute l’année grâce à une innovation canadienne qui pourrait devenir la norme d’excellence en construction de routes. En 2015, des partenaires canadiens et indiens se sont réunis pour construire la première route asphaltée de Thondebavi à l’aide d’une chaussée super mince à faible teneur en carbone qui dure plus longtemps et coûte moins cher que les routes classiques qui contiennent du béton.

Ce « laboratoire vivant » est dirigé par l’India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC-IMPACTS) en collaboration avec des partenaires canadiens, c’est-à-dire Stantec Inc. (Edmonton), Starmass Environment Technologies (Ottawa), la University of British Columbia et la University of Alberta, et des partenaires indiens, c’est-à-dire ACC Limited, Fosroc Chemicals, Reliance Industries, Stewols India et le National Institute of Engineering.

« Pendant les mois de la mousson, il était absolument impossible de marcher dans le village et encore moins d’y rouler. Il était donc très difficile pour les habitants d’apporter leurs produits au marché et des biens à la communauté », explique Nemy Banthia, chef de la direction et directeur scientifique du centre IC‑IMPACTS.

Terminée en octobre 2015, la route de 650 mètres est reliée à une route existante qui fait partie d’un réseau d’autoroutes menant à d’autres villes. En plus d’offrir au village une voie de transport cruciale, elle permettra aussi aux chercheurs et aux ingénieurs d’obtenir des données sur le rendement de la chaussée au cours des cinq prochaines années. Trois technologies différentes sont utilisées dans trois sections où l’épaisseur et la proportion des matériaux varient.

Chaque section comprend des technologies de chaussée super mince qui réduisent considérablement la quantité de ciment requise pour construire la route. La production de ciment est l’un des plus importants facteurs qui contribuent aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre, puisque la production d’une tonne génère une tonne d’émissions de carbone. Pour offrir une solution de rechange plus durable, on a utilisé environ 60 % de cendres volantes d’origine locale pour construire cette nouvelle route; ces cendres sont un sous-produit de l’industrie de l’énergie thermique qui est habituellement rejeté dans des étangs, des sites d’enfouissement et des carrières abandonnées. Certains rapports indiquent que seulement 20 % des cendres volantes sont recyclées ou réutilisées en Inde.

« Cela représente une amélioration majeure par rapport aux routes existantes. L’épaisseur de la nouvelle route correspond à environ un tiers de celle d’une route traditionnelle en Inde. De plus, la nouvelle route a une empreinte de carbone réduite, et est plus économique et durable », déclare M. Banthia.

En outre, la nouvelle route est renforcée au moyen de fibres novatrices qui en augmentent la solidité et la durabilité. Pour créer ces fibres, le centre IC-IMPACTS a collaboré avec Reliance Industries (Inde), le plus gros producteur de polyester au monde.

En Inde, les routes peuvent commencer à se détériorer dans les deux ans qui suivent leur construction en raison de la piètre qualité des matériaux, de la chaleur intense, du mauvais drainage et des pluies abondantes. Selon des essais financés par le centre IC‑IMPACTS, cette nouvelle route durera au moins 15 ans.

Des matériaux de béton à haute résistance sont utilisés dans une section, dont certains ont été élaborés par les chercheurs avec Béton Canada, l’un des premiers réseaux de centres d’excellence (1989-1998). Ce béton est quatre fois plus solide que celui qui est actuellement utilisé en Inde.

Du béton régulier renforcé de fibres est utilisé dans une autre section pour en améliorer le rendement. Dans une troisième section, ces deux technologies sont combinées à de nouvelles fibres qui ont été élaborées à la University of British Columbia.

« L’utilisation des technologies de chaussée canadiennes pour améliorer les routes dans l’État de Karnataka est un formidable exemple de la façon dont le Canada peut appuyer les initiatives visionnaires de l’Inde visant à construire des villes et des infrastructures intelligentes », déclare Stanley Gomes, consul général par intérim, Consulat général du Canada à Bengaluru.

Ce projet a déjà mené à l’établissement de partenariats avec deux autres États de l’Inde qui prévoient construire des routes en 2016 en se servant des conceptions fournies par le centre IC-IMPACTS. La route qui sera construite dans l’État de l’Haryana aura une longueur de deux kilomètres et celle qui sera construite dans l’État de Madhya Pradesh remplacera un tronçon d’autoroute de cinq kilomètres.

L’Inde est en plein boum de construction de routes, souhaitant atteindre son objectif de 2,4 millions de kilomètres de routes rurales. Selon M. Banthia, cela représente « une énorme occasion » pour les entreprises canadiennes, notamment les firmes de génie civil comme Stantec qui a conçu la chaussée de Thondebavi.

« L’équipe de Stantec a été privilégiée de pouvoir travailler avec les nombreux excellents chercheurs et professionnels qui font partie de l’équipe du centre IC-IMPACTS. Ce partenariat lui a donné l’occasion de montrer ses capacités spécialisées en génie et d’établir des contacts avec des chercheurs, des sociétés d’experts-conseils et des organismes gouvernementaux de l’Inde », ajoute Reed Ellis, vice-président, ponts chez Stantec, une entreprise de conception et de génie qui compte 15 000 employés et qui collabore avec le centre IC-IMPACTS depuis 2013.

Les essais montrent qu’en plus de résister aux pluies abondantes et à la chaleur, les technologies ont aussi un bon rendement dans les climats froids où les routes subissent un grand stress en raison du gel et du dégel extrêmes, ainsi que du soulèvement par le gel qui peut en fissurer la surface. Dans le cadre de nouveaux projets du centre IC‑IMPACTS, on construira une chaussée de haute technologie pour une école de la Première nation Lubicon située au nord d’Edmonton.

« Ces projets de démonstration réalisés en Inde et au Canada fourniront les preuves dont les gouvernements ont besoin pour investir dans de nouvelles technologies routières plus durables que les technologies actuelles. Ils donnent au Canada une formidable occasion de transformer des technologies novatrices en applications concrètes qui auront d’importantes retombées sur la vie de nombreuses personnes », conclut M. Banthia.