Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

IC-IMPACTS Providing Clean Water to First Nations Communities

UBC research team

UBC research team

Over five million Canadians lack access to a reliable source of safe drinking water, many of whom live in rural or First Nations communities. An investigation published by CBC in October, 2015 revealed that two-thirds of all First Nations communities in Canada had experienced at least one water problem between 2004 and 2014.

Researchers funded by the India-Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC-IMPACTS) are partnering with some of those communities to address water quality issues and are helping deliver safer and cleaner water to communities in Canada. The Centre is currently funding 14 projects that are tackling different aspects of delivering cleaner water to communities in need.

One such project is led by Madjid Mohseni and Pierre Berube from the University of British Columbia. Drs. Mohseni (also the Scientific Director of the NSERC-funded RES’EAU-WaterNET) and Berube are working on creating innovative and robust water treatment technologies that can be used in communities across Canada. They are using two technologies commonly found in complex water treatment systems and retooling them to be more user-friendly and cost-efficient on a smaller scale. Dr. Berube is focusing on using membrane technology while Dr. Mohseni is focusing on vacuum ultraviolet technology to achieve simultaneous disinfection and organic contaminant removal.

Through consultation with eight different First Nations communities and assessing their water needs, it was clear that a new solution for water treatment was needed.

With the help of BI Pure Water, GE Water, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), and eight student researchers, Drs. Mohseni and Berube created a mobile water treatment facility that could be driven to various communities. A trailer-mounted system houses the advanced water treatment technologies the group had been working on.

The mobile treatment system was deployed at one of the reserves within the Lytton First Nations in the fall of 2014 where it was hooked up to the community’s water supply – allowing for the evaluation of various alternative treatment options. This strategy not only provided an opportunity to the team on the best treatment strategy suitable for the community’s water, but also helped the community water operators to become familiar with the proposed solutions and offer feedback towards optimizing the process.

This successful pilot demonstration led to the permanent installation of the technologies in the community, through capital infrastructure funding from AANDC.  This has resulted in the elimination of seasonal boil water advisories that the community had to deal with over the years.

Drs. Mohseni and Berube are now actively working with two other communities in BC: Tl’azt’en Nation and Texada Island, a non-First Nations community. “The problem isn’t a lack of financial investment,” says Dr. Berube. “It’s a lack of proper consultation with First Nations and other community members on a sustainable solution.”

By directly working with communities, the researchers have come to understand that the issue is more than just technology – affordability, usability, and awareness are also key in creating a sustainable solution. They’ve made sure that community involvement and education are key components of their project. “Community members need to be participating in the research to ensure the project is successful,” says Dr. Mohseni. “They have a lot of indigenous knowledge that could be of great value.”

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le centre IC-IMPACTS apporte de l’eau propre aux communautés des Premières Nations

Équipe de recherche de l’University of British Columbia

Équipe de recherche de l’University of British Columbia

Plus de cinq millions de Canadiens n’ont pas accès à une source fiable d’eau potable sûre, et un grand nombre d’entre eux vivent dans des collectivités rurales ou autochtones. Une enquête publiée par la SRC en octobre 2015 révélait que les deux tiers des communautés des Premières Nations du Canada avaient eu au moins un problème d’eau entre 2004 et 2014.

Des chercheurs financés par l’India‑Canada Centre for Innovative Multidisciplinary Partnerships to Accelerate Community Transformation and Sustainability (IC‑IMPACTS) établissent un partenariat avec certaines de ces communautés pour régler les problèmes liés à la qualité de l’eau. Ils les aident ainsi à avoir accès à de l’eau plus sûre et plus propre. Actuellement, le centre finance 14 projets qui portent sur différents aspects de l’assainissement de l’eau dans les communautés en difficulté.

L’un de ces projets est dirigé par Madjid Mohseni et Pierre Berube de la University of British Columbia. M. Mohseni (qui est aussi le directeur scientifique du RES’EAU‑WaterNET financé par le CRSNG) et M. Berube travaillent à la création de technologies de traitement de l’eau novatrices et solides qui peuvent être utilisées dans toutes les collectivités du Canada. Ils refont deux technologies que l’on trouve couramment dans les systèmes complexes de traitement de l’eau pour qu’elles soient plus conviviales et rentables à une plus petite échelle. M. Berube se concentre sur la technologie de la membrane et M. Mohseni, sur la technologie de l’ultraviolet du vide pour réaliser simultanément la désinfection et l’élimination des contaminants organiques.

Après la consultation de huit différentes communautés des Premières Nations et l’évaluation de leurs besoins en eau, il était évident qu’une nouvelle solution était requise pour traiter l’eau.

Avec l’aide de BI Pure Water, de GE Water, d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) et de huit étudiants chercheurs, MM. Mohseni et Berube ont créé une installation mobile de traitement de l’eau qui peut être apportée dans diverses collectivités. Les technologies de traitement de l’eau avancées créées par le groupe sont transportées dans un système monté sur remorque.

À l’automne de 2014, le système mobile a été installé dans l’une des réserves de la Première Nation de Lytton, où il a été fixé au système d’alimentation en eau, permettant l’évaluation de diverses solutions de remplacement pour le traitement de l’eau. Cette stratégie a non seulement donné à l’équipe l’occasion de déterminer la meilleure méthode de traitement pour le système en place, mais a aussi aidé les exploitants de ce système à se familiariser avec les solutions proposées et à formuler des commentaires pour optimiser le procédé.

Le succès de cette démonstration pilote a mené à l’installation permanente des technologies dans la communauté grâce à un financement d’immobilisations fourni par AANC. Les avis saisonniers d’ébullition de l’eau que la communauté recevait depuis plusieurs années ont ainsi été éliminés.

MM. Mohseni et Berube travaillent maintenant activement avec deux autres communautés de la Colombie‑Britannique : la Nation Tl’azt’en et la communauté non autochtone de l’île Texada. « Le problème n’est pas le manque d’investissement, explique M. Berube. C’est l’absence d’une consultation adéquate des Premières Nations et des autres membres de la communauté au sujet d’une solution durable. »

En travaillant directement avec les communautés, les chercheurs en sont venus à conclure que le problème ne se limite pas à la technologie – le caractère abordable, l’utilité et la sensibilisation sont aussi des facteurs essentiels de l’élaboration d’une solution durable. Ils ont veillé à ce que la participation et l’éducation des membres de la communauté fassent partie intégrante de leur projet. « Les membres de la communauté doivent participer à la recherche pour assurer la réussite du projet, conclut M. Mohseni. Leurs nombreuses connaissances autochtones peuvent être très utiles. »