Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NCE community members among winners of prestigious Canadian science awards

The winners of prestigious science prizes given out to some of Canada’s top researchers include innovators who have made important contributions to NCE-funded networks and centres. The annual awards from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) are bestowed for a wide range of world-class achievements by Canadian researchers that boost discovery, training and innovation in Canada. His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, honoured the winners at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on February 17.


Winners of the Brokhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Winners of the Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering.

Paul Schaffer, TRIUMF; François Bénard, University of British Columbia; Anna Celler, University of British Columbia, Michael Kovacs, Western University; Thomas J. Ruth, TRIUMF;  John Valliant, McMaster University (Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering)

Canada’s hospitals are on the verge of having a local supply of isotopes for medical imaging thanks to a new development by an innovative team of researchers focused on preventing future isotope shortages. Paul Schaffer and his multi-disciplinary team of researchers have developed breakthrough technology that uses medical cyclotrons already installed and operational in major hospitals across Canada. Their solution allows existing cyclotrons to produce enough Tc-99m, a key medical isotope, in just one night to meet the daily needs of most hospitals.
               
The teams from two CECRs, CPDC and AAPS (TRIUMF’s commercialization arm), supported the award-winning development.


Aaron Wheeler   Daniel Ansari
     

Aaron Wheeler, Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto (E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship winner)

Newborns across Canada are screened for a variety of rare metabolic disorders, but processing these samples manually in the lab is tedious and slow. To simplify the procedure, Aaron Wheeler is developing an automated process using new lab-on-a-chip tools. Dr. Wheeler’s team of chemists, biologists, physicists, engineers, and medical researchers is working to extend these techniques to screen mothers and newborns for infectious diseases and inborn disorders in vulnerable populations in Viet Nam and Canada, respectively.

Dr. Wheeler’s work has resulted in an
This link will take you to another Web site invention disclosure to the MaRS Innovation CECR and a new startup .

 

Daniel Ansari, Department of Psychology, Western University (E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship winner)

A world leader in searching for the brain mechanisms underlying numerical and mathematical processing, Daniel Ansari is using behavioural and brain imaging methods to study the individual differences that put some children on a poor trajectory for learning math. His research has shown that early numeracy can predict future, high-level math abilities – information that will help teachers, school psychologists and parents.

Dr. Ansari was a member of the
This link will take you to another Web site NeuroDevNet Research Management Committee.

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Des membres du milieu des RCE sont au nombre des lauréats de prestigieux prix scientifiques canadiens

Certains des prestigieux prix scientifiques destinés aux meilleurs chercheurs du Canada ont été décernés à des innovateurs qui apportent une contribution importante aux réseaux et aux centres appuyés par les Réseaux de centres d’excellence (RCE). Ces prix annuels du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada sont remis à des chercheurs canadiens en reconnaissance d’un grand éventail de réalisations de calibre mondial qui stimulent la découverte, la formation et l’innovation au Canada. Le gouverneur général du Canada, Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, a rendu hommage aux lauréats à l’occasion d’une cérémonie qui s’est déroulée à Rideau Hall le 17 février.


Lauréats du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie

Lauréats du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie.

Paul Schaffer (TRIUMF), François Bénard (University of British Columbia), Anna Celler (University of British Columbia), Michael Kovacs (Western University), Thomas J. Ruth (TRIUMF) et John Valliant (McMaster University), lauréats du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie

Grâce aux avancées d’une équipe innovatrice de chercheurs dont les travaux portent sur la prévention de futures pénuries d’isotopes, les hôpitaux canadiens sont sur le point de recevoir un approvisionnement local en isotopes pour l’imagerie médicale. Paul Schaffer et son équipe multidisciplinaire de chercheurs ont développé une technologie novatrice basée sur les cyclotrons médicaux qui sont déjà installés et opérationnels dans les grands hôpitaux canadiens. Cette technologie permet à ces cyclotrons de produire suffisamment de technétium 99m, isotope médical essentiel, en une seule nuit pour répondre aux besoins quotidiens de la plupart des hôpitaux.

Les équipes de deux CECR – soit le Centre pour le développement et la commercialisation des traceurs et Exploitation des techniques de pointe en physique – ont contribué à ces avancées méritoires.


Aaron Wheeler   Daniel Ansari
     

Aaron Wheeler (Département de chimie de la University of Toronto), lauréat d’une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie

Partout au Canada, les nouveau-nés sont testés pour une série de troubles métaboliques rares, mais le traitement des échantillons en laboratoire est un processus manuel lent et fastidieux. Pour le simplifier, Aaron Wheeler élabore un mécanisme automatisé au moyen de nouveaux outils de laboratoire sur puce. Composée de chimistes, de biologistes, de physiciens, d’ingénieurs et de chercheurs en médecine, l’équipe de M. Wheeler cherche à élargir la portée de ces techniques de façon à pouvoir dépister les maladies infectieuses chez la mère et le nouveau-né, ainsi que les maladies congénitales dans les populations vulnérables du Vietnam et du Canada.

Les travaux de M. Wheeler ont mené à une
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web déclaration d’invention au centre d’excellence en commercialisation et en recherche (CECR) MaRS Innovation et à une nouvelle entreprise (en anglais seulement).

 

Daniel Ansari (Département de psychologie de la Western University), lauréat d’une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie

Chef de file mondial de la recherche sur les mécanismes du cerveau à la base du traitement mathématique et numérique, Daniel Ansari se sert de méthodes comportementales et d’imagerie cérébrale pour étudier les différences individuelles qui font en sorte que certains enfants ne sont pas sur la bonne voie pour apprendre les mathématiques. Ses travaux ont montré que les premiers apprentissages mathématiques d’un enfant peuvent permettre de prévoir s’il possédera des compétences de haut niveau en mathématiques à l’avenir – renseignements qui aideront les professeurs, les psychologues en milieu scolaire et les parents.

M. Ansari est un ancien membre du
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web comité de direction de la recherche de NeuroDevNet.