Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Helping municipalities comply with safe drinking water rules

Municipalities and regulators have not always seen eye to eye on the best way to ensure the safety of drinking water. Ontario’s regulations, for example, are among the most stringent in North America, yet ambiguities and scientific inconsistencies have resulted in some municipalities investing in expensive groundwater treatments when more affordable and equally effective options were available for protecting public health.

That ambiguity will end in 2014 with the release of revised guidelines that combine up-to-date science with practical know-how to help municipalities protect the public from waterborne pathogens in the most cost-efficient way.

“While science can guide us a lot, it doesn’t always have all the answers. At the end of the day, there has to be a combination of top-level science, reasonable and cost-effective practice and a healthy dose of precaution with respect to managing risk and protecting public health,” says Dr. Monica Emelko, a Canadian Water Network (CWN) researcher who led work to revise the guidelines.

The Ontario government moved quickly to introduce stringent drinking water standards after an E. coli outbreak in May 2000 killed seven residents and sickened about 2,500 others in the small town of Walkerton. But system owners and industry consultants raised concerns that the accompanying how-to guidelines were difficult to interpret and not always based on the most current science.

In response, the Ministry of the Environment (MOE) turned to CWN, a Canada-wide network and credible third-party organization that could bring together key stakeholders in a collaborative and transparent process to ensure that Ontario’s drinking water policies are based on the best available science. Established as an NCE in 2001, CWN has strong linkages across the country with industry, government, academia and non-government partners, and a track record of producing practical science.

“Almost everything CWN does is focused on helping decision makers prioritize their actions and investments to protect public and environmental health,” says the network’s Executive Director, Bernadette Conant.

CWN drew on these connections to organize a workshop in Guelph in 2010 involving system owners, consultants, regulators and scientific experts from multiple disciplines, including microbiology, colloid (pollutant) transport, hydrogeology and treatment engineering. That workshop resulted in the formation of several working groups, led by MOE and CWN, charged with revising the guidelines for determining appropriate treatment for well water to protect public health from waterborne pathogens.

“The collaborative process we undertook set a new benchmark for cooperation and consultation in delivering sound public policy,” says Aziz Ahmed, Supervisor, Approvals and Licensing, at MOE. “The network’s participation was not only valuable – it was virtually indispensable.”

Cost-effective solutions

The new guidelines address what is referred to as Groundwater Under the Direct Influence (GUDI) of surface water. They provide municipalities with clearer guidance on how to comply with the ministry’s minimum treatment requirements, as well as cost-effective and more protective and science-based options.

“I think smaller municipalities in particular will be very happy with the approach we are taking,” adds Ahmed.

Both the consultation process and the guidelines are attracting interest from across Canada and the U.S. Emelko notes that many jurisdictions “go overboard in the wrong areas” in trying to protect public health from waterborne pathogens, when more affordable or more effective solutions are available.

Many parts of the U.S., for example, have just two choices for treating well water: “the bare bones minimum (which is sometimes no treatment) or the Rolls Royce treatment. There’s essentially nothing in between,” says Emelko, an expert in drinking water supply and treatment at the University of Waterloo.

Ontario currently offers three levels of treatment compliance, which will increase to four with the new GUDI guidelines. The first two levels – which happen to be the least expensive – would address the two greatest threats: viruses and bacteria. These options are suitable for wells with high-quality water with little evidence of contamination.

Life after CWN

The Canadian Water Network will sunset as a Network of Centres of Excellence in 2015, but the collaborative models and decision-making processes it has established, and many of its research activities, will continue with the support of multiple funders, such as the Canadian Municipal Water Consortium. Launched in 2009, the CMWC brings together municipal water managers, industry and all levels of governments to address common needs and approaches to tackling water management challenges.

More expensive treatments are required at the third level if testing indicates sufficient risk of contamination with other kinds of pathogens (such as Cryptosporidium), though such occurrences are rare.

The fourth treatment level – normally used for surface water supplies – is significantly more expensive. In addition to treating pathogens, it would also involve chemically-assisted filtration processes to remove solids such as fine particles from the water. It would also cost municipalities millions of dollars in physical infrastructure (e.g. pumps, mixers, reactors), higher energy usage, more waste production, ongoing operations and maintenance.

Ontario is the only jurisdiction in North America to formally implement this level of treatment. Emelko says the new guidance provides municipalities with affordable, evidence-based options that are equally or more effective in protecting public health.

“It’s one thing to say, ‘let’s be conservative and err on the side of caution,’ but having an all-or-nothing approach unnecessarily constrains municipalities. Why put treatments in place when they’re not required when that dollar can be much better spent protecting public health from waterborne disease in a different way?” says Emelko.

“At the end of the day, the regulated and regulators want the same goal,” says Conant, “which is the best possible use of time, money and resources to protect public health.”

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aider les municipalités à se conformer aux règlements sur la salubrité de l'eau potable

Les municipalités et les organismes de réglementation n’ont pas toujours été d’accord sur le meilleur moyen à prendre pour assurer la salubrité de l’eau potable. Les règlements ontariens, par exemple, sont parmi les plus stricts de l’Amérique du Nord, mais en raison d’ambiguïtés et d’incohérences scientifiques, certaines municipalités ont investi dans de coûteux systèmes de traitement de l’eau souterraine alors qu’il existait des options plus abordables et tout aussi efficaces pour protéger la santé publique.

Cette ambiguïté prendra fin en 2014 avec la publication de lignes directrices révisées qui combinent les connaissances scientifiques actuelles et un savoir‑faire pratique et qui aideront les municipalités à protéger les citoyens des pathogènes d’origine hydrique de la façon la plus économique possible.

« Même si la science peut nous guider, elle n’a pas toujours toutes les réponses. Au bout du compte, il faut combiner les meilleures données scientifiques, des pratiques raisonnables et rentables et une bonne dose de précautions pour gérer le risque et protéger la santé publique », déclare Monica Emelko, une chercheuse au Réseau canadien de l’eau (RCE) qui a dirigé les travaux de révision des lignes directrices.

Le gouvernement ontarien s’est empressé de mettre en place des normes strictes pour l’eau potable après l’éclosion d’E. coli en mai 2000 qui a tué sept habitants de Walkerton et en a rendu malades quelque 2 500 autres. Mais les propriétaires des systèmes et les consultants de l’industrie ont exprimé des préoccupations à l’égard des lignes directrices connexes, qu’ils trouvaient difficiles à interpréter et pas toujours basées sur les données scientifiques les plus à jour.

Pour répondre à ces préoccupations, le ministère de l’Environnement s’est tourné vers le RCE, un réseau canadien et une tierce partie crédible qui pouvait réunir les principaux intervenants dans le cadre d’un processus concerté et transparent dans le but de baser les politiques ontariennes concernant l’eau potable sur les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles. Le RCE, un réseau de centres d’excellence créé en 2001, a établi de solides liens dans l’ensemble du pays avec des partenaires de l’industrie, du gouvernement, du milieu postsecondaire et du secteur non gouvernemental. Il a de l’expérience dans la production de données scientifiques concrètes.

« Presque tout ce que fait le RCE vise à aider les décideurs à établir la priorité de leurs mesures et de leurs investissements, afin de protéger la santé du public et de l’environnement », affirme la directrice exécutive du réseau, Bernadette Conant.

En 2010, le RCE a exploité ces relations pour organiser un atelier à Guelph auquel il a invité des propriétaires de système, des consultants, des organismes de réglementation et des scientifiques de nombreuses disciplines, notamment la microbiologie, le transport des colloïdes (polluants), l’hydrogéologie et le génie du traitement de l’eau. Après cet atelier, plusieurs groupes de travail dirigés par le ministère de l’Environnement et le RCE ont été chargés de revoir les lignes directrices pour déterminer le traitement de l’eau de puits qui permettrait de protéger les citoyens des pathogènes d’origine hydrique.

« Le processus de collaboration que nous avons lancé a constitué un nouveau point de référence pour la collaboration et la consultation aux fins de l’élaboration d’une solide politique publique, constate Aziz Ahmed, superviseur, Approbations et licences au ministère de l’Environnement. La participation du réseau n’a pas été seulement précieuse – elle était pratiquement indispensable. »

Solutions rentables

Les nouvelles lignes directrices traitent de ce qu’on appelle l’eau souterraine sous influence directe d’eaux de surface (ESIDES). Elles indiquent clairement aux municipalités comment se conformer aux exigences minimales du ministère en matière de traitement de l’eau et leur proposent des solutions économiques basées sur des données scientifiques qui apportent une plus grande protection.

« Je pense que les petites municipalités seront en particulier très heureuses de la stratégie que nous proposons », ajoute M. Ahmed.

Le processus de consultation et les lignes directrices suscitent de l’intérêt partout au Canada et aux États Unis. Mme Emelko constate que de nombreux gouvernements « en font trop aux mauvais endroits » lorsqu’ils tentent de protéger les citoyens des pathogènes d’origine hydrique, alors qu’il existe des solutions plus abordables ou plus efficaces.

Ainsi, de nombreuses régions des États Unis n’ont que deux choix pour traiter l’eau de puits : « le minimum essentiel (ce qui parfois ne représente aucun traitement) ou le traitement royal. Il n’y a pratiquement rien entre les deux », poursuit Mme Emelko, qui est une experte de l’offre et du traitement de l’eau potable à la University of Waterloo.

Actuellement, l’Ontario propose trois niveaux de traitement, qui passeront à quatre avec les nouvelles lignes directrices ESIDES. Les deux premiers niveaux – les moins coûteux – visent les deux plus grandes menaces : les virus et les bactéries. Ces choix conviennent aux puits dont l’eau de grande qualité montre peu de signes de contamination.

L’après‑RCE

En 2015, le RCE terminera son mandat à titre de réseau de centres d’excellence, mais ses modèles de collaboration et ses processus décisionnels resteront en place et un grand nombre de ses activités de recherche se poursuivront grâce à l’aide de nombreux bailleurs de fonds, p. ex. le Consortium sur les eaux urbaines au Canada. Lancé en 2009, ce consortium réunit des gestionnaires de réseaux d’eau potable municipaux, des représentants de l’industrie et des intervenants de tous les paliers de gouvernement, afin de répondre à des besoins communs et d’élaborer des stratégies pour relever les défis liés à la gestion de l’eau.

Le traitement de troisième niveau est plus coûteux. Il est requis lorsque les tests indiquent qu’il y a un risque suffisant de contamination par d’autres types de pathogènes (p. ex. Cryptosporidium), même si ces situations sont rares.

Le traitement de quatrième niveau – habituellement utilisé pour les sources d’approvisionnement en eau de surface – est beaucoup plus coûteux. En plus de s’attaquer aux pathogènes, il prévoit un processus de filtration avec procédé chimique pour retirer de l’eau les matières solides telles que les particules fines. En outre, les municipalités devront dépenser des millions de dollars pour l’infrastructure matérielle (p. ex. pompes, mélangeurs, réacteurs), consommeront davantage d’énergie, produiront plus de déchets et seront responsables de l’exploitation et de l’entretien en permanence.

L’Ontario est le seul gouvernement de l’Amérique du Nord à mettre en œuvre officiellement le traitement de troisième niveau. Mme Emelko affirme que les nouvelles lignes directrices proposent aux municipalités des options abordables et basées sur des faits qui permettent de protéger aussi bien ou même mieux la santé publique.

« C’est une chose de dire “ Pêchons par excès de prudence ”, mais l’approche du tout ou rien impose des restrictions superflues aux municipalités. Pourquoi mettre en place des traitements inutiles quand il est possible de dépenser beaucoup mieux cet argent et d’utiliser d’autres moyens pour protéger les citoyens des maladies d’origine hydrique? », demande Mme Emelko.

« Au bout du compte, les entreprises réglementées et les organismes de réglementation ont le même but, conclut Mme Conant : « utiliser au mieux le temps, l’argent et les ressources pour protéger la santé publique. »