Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence program

Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence program

 Download

As per Budget 2018, the Government announced the consolidation of the Centres of Excellence for Commercialization and Research (CECR) and the Business-led Networks of Centres of Excellence (BL-NCE) programs with the This link will take you to another Web site Strategic Innovation Fund (SIF). Innovation Canada is working with the NCE to implement these programming changes with minimal disruption to organizations currently funded by the CECR and BL-NCE programs.

In light of this, the NCE Secretariat will not be conducting any future call for proposals for the CECR and BL-NCE programs. I invite you to follow the link to SIF above to monitor potential funding opportunities.

The Business-Led Networks of Centres of Excellence program (BL-NCE) funds large-scale collaborative research networks that bring a wide range of research expertise to bear on specific challenges identified by an industrial sector. Led by a not-for-profit consortium of industrial partners, networks enhance private sector innovation by blending academic expertise with the private sector’s drive to respond to real-world challenges. BL-NCEs increase private sector investments in Canadian research, support training of skilled researchers, and accelerate the transfer of ideas from the laboratory into solutions needed by the private sector.

Quick facts

  • The BL-NCE program was created in 2007 to help address major private-sector R&D and commercialization challenges by drawing on universities, research organizations and the private sector.
  • The program’s partnership model places academic and private-sector partners on an equal level.
  • Matching requirements mean that at least half of each network’s research costs are paid by partners.
  • Unique among granting agency programs, the BL-NCE program allows networks to fund private sector partners directly so they can conduct research at their own facilities.
  • The program was made permanent in the 2012 federal budget, with annual funding of $12 million.

Learn more

Contact

E-mail: info@nce-rce.gc.ca

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence dirigés par l’entreprise

Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence dirigés par l’entreprise

 Télécharger

Le Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence dirigés par l’entreprise (RCE-E) finance des réseaux de recherche collaboratifs d’envergure qui apportent un vaste éventail d’expertise en recherche pour résoudre des problèmes précis qu’un secteur industriel a cernés. Dirigés par un consortium sans but lucratif de partenaires industriels, les RCE‑E favorisent l’innovation dans le secteur privé en combinant l’expertise universitaire et la motivation du secteur privé à résoudre des défis concrets. Les RCE-E accroissent les investissements du secteur privé dans la recherche canadienne, contribuent à la formation de chercheurs compétents, et accélèrent la transformation des idées du laboratoire en solutions requises par le secteur privé.

Quelques faits

  • Le Programme des RCE‑E a été créé en 2007 dans le but d’aider à résoudre les principaux défis du secteur privé sur le plan de la R et D ainsi que de la commercialisation en faisant appel aux universités, aux organismes de recherche et au secteur privé.
  • Le modèle de partenariat du Programme des RCE‑E place les partenaires des secteurs postsecondaire et privé sur un pied d’égalité.
  • Les fonds de contrepartie signifient qu’au moins la moitié des coûts de la recherche de chaque réseau sont payés par ses partenaires.
  • Unique parmi les programmes des organismes subventionnaires, le Programme des RCE‑E permet aux réseaux de financer directement des partenaires du secteur privé afin qu'ils puissent faire de la recherche dans leurs propres installations.
  • Le Programme des RCE‑E, doté d’un budget annuel de 12 millions de dollars, a été rendu permanent dans le budget fédéral de 2012.

Pour en savoir plus…

Personne-ressource

Brigit Viens
Tél. : 613-947-4538
Courriel : brigit.viens@nce-rce.gc.ca