Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life - AGE-WELL

$36.6 million for 2014-19
About   |   News   |   Events   |   Features
Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life

Number of partners
217

Partner contributions
$2.5 million

Headquarters
Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network, Toronto, Ontario

Scientific Directors
Alex Mihailidis Alex Mihailidis

Andrew Sixsmith Andrew Sixsmith

Board chair
Mike Harcourt Mike Harcourt
Former Premier of British Columbia

Growing older with dignity and grace with some high-tech help


The opportunity

Aging populations globally are stimulating rapid advances in artificial intelligence, mobile technologies, e-health and other technologies. These simultaneous developments create an ideal opportunity for Canada to emerge as a global leader in designing technology that optimizes the well-being of older adults. Much of this expertise is located at the Intelligent Design for Adaptation, Participation and Technology (iDAPT) centre, part of the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – University Health Network and one of the most advanced rehabilitation research centres in the world. Experts at iDAPT and Simon Fraser University are working with researchers across Canada, industry partners, service providers, older Canadians and their caregivers to develop practical, cost-effective solutions that meet real-world needs.

How AGE-WELL is seizing the opportunity

Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life (AGE-WELL) brings together 30 universities and more than 100 industry and non-profit organizations to address a wide range of complex issues in technology and aging through receptor-driven transdisciplinary research, training programs, partnerships, knowledge mobilization and technology commercialization. AGE-WELL is driven by three key questions:

  1. What do older adults and caregivers need and how can technology meet those needs?  
  2. What technology-based systems and services should be used to enhance the health and well-being of older adults and support independent living? 
  3. How can innovation be fostered in the short-and long-term to benefit older adults, health care providers and Canadian industry?

In addition to studying the ethical, policy and regulatory issues associated with new technologies, AGE-WELL also tackles early stage funding, entrepreneurship training and other commercialization challenges.

Among the results

  • AGE-WELL provides funding and experiential learning opportunities for more than 200 emerging researchers and new professionals in technology and aging.
  • AGE-WELL’s Strategic Investment Program supports three new start-ups: Winterlight Labs, which is commercializing a tablet-based speech-assessment technology that identifies Alzheimer’s, aphasia and Parkinson’s disease with 85-100% accuracy, Braze Mobility, which is commercializing an add-on system to transform any commercial wheelchair into a “smart” wheelchair able to prevent collisions, and Steadiwear Inc., which is commercializing a “smart” glove that reduces hand tremors.
  • AGE-WELL served on the advisory board for uberASSIST, a new Canadian service providing transportation for older adults and people with disabilities. The network was also consulted on the driver training program. As part of the partnership, Uber funded a scholarship for a graduate student to explore issues related to seniors and transportation.
  • PRED-FALL is an AGE-WELL Core Research Project developing technologies to predict, prevent and detect falls, including a wearable sensor system that transmits information about mobility patterns and falls. The research team is also field-testing compliant flooring that cushions falls and could reduce the frequency of hip fractures and head injuries. 

Connect with AGE-WELL

 

News
February 6, 2017
December 16, 2016
September 29, 2016
December 30, 2015
August 19, 2015
Events
October 17-19, 2017
Features
Giving older adults and their caregivers a voice in research
January 31, 2017
Jim Mann is one of more than 747,000 Canadians living with Alzheimer’s or another dementia, but don’t ask him what new technologies would make his life easier and safer. Read more
Predicting falls before they happen
May 13, 2016
Helping his grandmother navigate the icy sidewalks of Winnipeg as a boy and witnessing her fear of falling helped motivate Steve Robinovitch to pursue research focused on keeping vulnerable seniors safer. Read more

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life - AGE-WELL

36,6 millions de dollars pour 2014-2019
À propos   |   Nouvelles   |   En vedette
Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life

Nombre de partenaires
217

Contributions des partenaires
2,5 millions de dollars

Siège social
Institut de réadaptation de Toronto – Réseau universitaire de santé, Toronto (Ontario)

Directeurs scientifiques
Alex Mihailidis Alex Mihailidis

Andrew Sixsmith Andrew Sixsmith

Président du conseil d’administration
Mike Harcourt Mike Harcourt
Ancien premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique

Vieillir avec dignité et grâce à l’aide de la haute technologie


L’occasion

Le vieillissement de la population mondiale accélère la progression de l’intelligence artificielle, des technologies mobiles, de la cybersanté et d’autres technologies. Ces percées simultanées donnent au Canada une occasion idéale de devenir un chef de file mondial de la conception d’une technologie qui optimise le bienêtre des personnes âgées. La plus grande partie de cette expertise se trouve au centre Intelligent Design for Adaptation, Participation and Technology (iDAPT), qui fait partie de l’Institut de réadaptation de Toronto – Réseau universitaire de santé, un des centres de recherche en réadaptation les plus avancés du monde. Les experts d’iDAPT et de la Simon Fraser University travaillent avec des chercheurs de partout au Canada, des partenaires du secteur privé, des fournisseurs de services, des Canadiens âgés et leurs soignants pour trouver des solutions pratiques et économiques qui répondent à des besoins réels.

Comment AGE-WELL saisit l’occasion

Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement and Long Life (AGE-WELL) réunit 30 universités et plus de 100 organisations des secteurs privé et sans but lucratif dans une plateforme nationale d’expertise multidisciplinaire axée sur la recherche, la mobilisation des connaissances et la commercialisation de la technologie. Le programme du réseau repose sur les trois grandes questions suivantes :

  1. Quels sont les besoins des personnes âgées et des soignants et comment la technologie peut-elle répondre à ces besoins?
  2. Quels systèmes et services technologiques devraient être utilisés pour améliorer la santé et le bien-être des personnes âgées et favoriser leur autonomie?
  3. Comment favoriser l’innovation à court et à long terme de façon à ce qu’elle profite aux personnes âgées, aux soignants et au secteur privé canadien?

En plus d’étudier les questions éthiques, stratégiques et réglementaires associées aux nouvelles technologies, AGE-WELL s’attaque à une vaste gamme de problèmes complexes liés à la technologie et au vieillissement au moyen de la recherche transdisciplinaire axée sur l’utilisateur, des programmes de formation, des partenariats, la mobilisation des connaissances et la commercialisation de technologies.

Quelques résultats

  • AGE-WELL fournit du financement à plus de 200 chercheurs en début de carrière et nouveaux professionnels du domaine de la technologie et du vieillissement. Ces derniers participent également à des possibilités d’apprentissage basées sur l’expérience au moyen du programme Early Professionals, Inspired Careers (EPIC) d’AGE-WELL.
  • Le programme d’investissement stratégique d’AGE-WELL appuie trois nouvelles entreprises : Winterlight Labs, qui commercialise une technologie d'évaluation en orthophonie axée sur les tablettes qui peut être utilisée pour dépister la maladie d’Alzheimer, l’aphasie et la maladie de Parkinson avec un taux de précision de 85 à 100 %; Braze Mobility, qui commercialise un système d’appoint qui peut transformer n’importe quel fauteuil roulant commercial en fauteuil intelligent capable d’éviter les collisions; et Steadiwear Inc., qui commercialise un gant intelligent qui réduit le tremblement des mains.
  • AGE-WELL fait partie du comité consultatif d’uberASSIST, un nouveau service de transport au Canada pour les personnes âgées et les personnes handicapées. Le réseau a également été consulté pour l’élaboration du programme de formation des chauffeurs. Dans le cadre du partenariat, Uber finance une bourse afin qu’un étudiant diplômé explore les enjeux liés aux personnes âgées et au transport.
  • PRED-FALL est un projet de recherche de base d’AGE-WELL dans le cadre duquel on met au point des technologies pour prédire, prévenir et détecter des chutes, y compris un système de capteurs portables qui transmet de l’information sur la mobilité et les chutes. De plus, l’équipe de recherche met à l’essai sur le terrain des revêtements de sol conformes aux normes qui amortissent les chutes et qui pourraient réduire la fréquence des fractures de la hanche et des traumatismes crâniens.

Pour en savoir plus sur AGE-WELL

 

Nouvelles
Le 3 novembre 2017
Le 30 octobre 2017
Le 19 octobre 2017
Le 1er mai 2017
Le 6 février 2017
Le 11 janvier 2017
Le 23 novembre 2016
Le 9 novembre 2016
Le 19 octobre 2016
Le 29 septembre 2016
Le 20 septembre 2016
Le 14 septembre 2016
Le 13 juin 2016
Le 13 juin 2016
Le 13 juin 2016
Le 25 mai 2016
Le 9 mai 2016
Le 6 mai 2016
Le 18 avril 2016
Le 30 mars 2016
Le 24 février 2016
Le 3 février 2016
Le 2 février 2016
Le 22 janvier 2016
Le 30 décembre 2015
Le 3 décembre 2015
Le 24 novembre 2015
Le 18 novembre 2015
Le 27 août 2015
Le 26 août 2015
Le 28 juillet 2015
Le 27 mars 2015
Le 16 mars 2015
Le 19 janvier 2015
En vedette
Donner aux personnes âgées et à leurs soignants une voix en recherche
Le 31 janvier 2017
Jim Mann fait partie des quelque 747 000 Canadiens qui sont atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une autre forme de démence. Pour en savoir plus
Prédire des chutes avant qu’ils ne surviennent
Le 13 mai 2016
Enfant, Steve Robinovitch aidait sa grand-mère à se déplacer sur les trottoirs glacés de Winnipeg et était témoin de sa crainte de tomber. C’est peut-être ce qui allait faire de lui un chercheur pour aider les aînés vulnérables à être en sécurité. Pour en savoir plus