Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation - CSii

$14.8 million for 2009-17
About   |   News   |   Features   |   Videos
Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation

Number of partners
16

Partner contributions
$28.4 million

Headquarters
Hamilton, Ontario

Scientific Director and CEO
Mehran Anvari Mehran Anvari

Board chair
Douglas Barber Douglas Barber
Professor in Residence, McMaster University

Applying Canada's expertise in space robotics to medicine


The opportunity

When it comes to space robotics, Canada is an undisputed global leader. The industry has invested more than $2 billion in research and development for more than 30 years, overcoming many of the hurdles associated with automation, image guidance and manoeuvrability. On the medical front, several Canadian universities are top ranked when it comes to developing image-guided therapies. These strengths put Canada in an excellent position to use its expertise to make the medical system more efficient, improve healthcare access in rural and remote areas, and improve patient outcomes by enabling more targeted, less invasive procedures.

How CSii is seizing the opportunity

The Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation (CSii) combines the skills and know-how of academic staff and practising clinicians with private sector business acumen to develop and commercialize a new class of advanced image-guided robotic systems that will extend the diagnostic and interventional capabilities of surgeons, physicians and health care professionals through increased precision and dexterity. CSii partners with MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA), the world leader in space robotics and developer of the famous Canadarm, to test, prototype, validate and commercialize new technologies that can dramatically improve surgical results, and reduce the trauma and recovery times for patients.

Among the results

  • CSii completed development of its Image Guided Automated Robot (IGAR), a generic image-guided robotics platform that will be adopted for several applications, including biopsies and localized cancer treatment. The system can also be operated remotely, enabling radiologists to biopsy and treat patients in remote locations.
  • CSii successfully developed and manufactured its first clinical system – the IGAR Breast Robot – which allows real-time biopsy and therapy of suspected breast lesions in an MRI system, resulting in less pain and faster treatment. CSii is partnering with MDA to manufacture the system in Canada, and has initiated a startup for global sales and distribution. Commercial release is planned for 2017.
  • CSii is working with IBM’s Watson Collaborative Group and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) to develop the next generation of IGAR: an autonomous robotic system capable of diagnosing, planning and executing medical diagnostic and therapeutic actions. CSii is also working with the CSA to develop telerobotic capabilities for IGAR technology that will improve access to health care for Canadians living in remote parts of the country.

Connect with CSii

 

Features
Space-age robot making cancer biopsies more accurate
February 10, 2015
Women from Ontario and Quebec will continue to be among the world’s first to have a breast biopsy taken by a robotic surgeon that can trace its technological pedigree to the Canadarm and International Space Station. The made-in-Canada technology promises to be less time consuming and more accurate than current manual procedures and can be operated by a radiologist remotely, ensuring equal access to surgical care across all of Canada. Read more
Videos
Watch Video
Canadian Space technology helps breast cancer patients
October 1, 2014

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation - CSii

14,8 millions de dollars pour 2009-2017
À propos   |   Nouvelles   |   En vedette   |   Vidéos
Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation

Nombre de partenaires
16

Contributions des partenaires
28,4 millions de dollars

Siège social
Hamilton (Ontario)

Directeur scientifique et président-directeur général
Mehran Anvari Mehran Anvari

Président du conseil d'administration
Douglas Barber Douglas Barber
Professeur en résidence, McMaster University

Appliquer l'expertise canadienne en robotique spatiale au domaine de la médecine


L’occasion

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial incontesté de la robotique spatiale. Au cours des 30 dernières années, l’industrie a investi plus de deux milliards de dollars dans la recherche et développement, surmontant de nombreux obstacles associés à l’automatisation, au guidage par l’image et à la manœuvrabilité. Dans le domaine médical, plusieurs universités canadiennes se classent parmi les meilleures pour ce qui est de mettre au point des traitements guidés par l’image. Grâce à ces atouts, le Canada est en excellente position pour utiliser cette expertise en vue d’améliorer l’efficacité du système médical, l’accès aux soins de santé en régions rurales et en régions éloignées et les résultats pour les patients au moyen de procédures plus ciblées et moins invasives.

Comment le CSii saisit l’occasion

Le Centre for Surgical Invention and Innovation (CSii) réunit les compétences et le savoir-faire d’universitaires et de cliniciens praticiens au sens aigu des affaires du secteur privé pour développer et commercialiser une nouvelle catégorie de systèmes robotiques guidés par l’image de pointe qui renforceront les capacités des chirurgiens, des médecins et des professionnels de la santé en matière de diagnostic et d’intervention en leur offrant une précision et une dextérité accrues. Il a établi un partenariat avec MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA), chef de file mondial de la robotique spatiale et créateur du célèbre bras canadien Canadarm, pour faire l’essai, le prototype, la validation et la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies pouvant améliorer considérablement les résultats des interventions chirurgicales et réduire le trauma et le temps de rétablissement des patients.

Quelques résultats

  • Le CSii a terminé le développement de son robot automatisé guidé par l’image (IGAR), système robotique général guidé par l’image qui aura plusieurs applications, dont les biopsies et le traitement localisé du cancer. Le système peut aussi être utilisé à distance, ce qui permet aux radiologues de faire des biopsies et de traiter les patients vivant dans des endroits éloignés.
  • Le CSii a élaboré et fabriqué avec succès son premier système clinique, le robot IGAR pour les seins, lequel permet de faire la biopsie et le traitement en temps réel des lésions suspectes au sein à l’aide de l’imagerie par résonance magnétique, ce qui réduit la douleur et accélère le traitement. Il a établi un partenariat avec MDA pour la fabrication du système au Canada et a lancé une entreprise en démarrage pour assurer la vente et la distribution du système à l’échelle mondiale. Le lancement commercial du système est prévu pour 2017.
  • Le CSii travaille avec le Watson Collaborative Group d’IBM et l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) afin de développer le robot IGAR de prochaine génération : un système robotique autonome capable d’établir un diagnostic et aussi de planifier et d’exécuter un diagnostic médical et des mesures thérapeutiques. Le CSii aussi travaille avec l’ASC afin de développer des capacités télérobotiques pour le robot IGAR qui permettront d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de santé des Canadiens vivant dans les régions éloignées du pays.

Pour en savoir plus sur le CSii

 

En vedette
Un robot de l’ère spatiale accroît la précision des biopsies pour le cancer
Le 10 février 2015
Les femmes de l’Ontario et du Québec continueront d’être parmi les premières du monde à profiter d’un chirurgien robot qui fait des biopsies du sein. Cette technologie fabriquée au Canada est issue du bras spatial canadien (Canadarm) et de la Station spatiale internationale. Elle promet d’être plus rapide et plus exacte que les procédures manuelles actuelles. De plus, elle peut être utilisée à distance par un radiologue, ce qui assure un accès égal aux soins chirurgicaux partout au Canada. Pour en savoir plus
Vidéos
Regardez la vidéo
La technologie spatiale canadienne utilisée pour aider les patientes atteintes de cancer du sein
Le 1er octobre 2014