Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics - CCAB

$15 million for 2014-19
About   |   News
Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics

Number of partners
12

Partner contributions
$994,000

Headquarters
Toronto, Ontario

Interim CEO
Ian Stewart Ian Stewart

Chief Scientific Officer
Sachdev Sidhu Sachdev Sidhu

Board chair
Ajay Chadha Ajay Chadha

Canada intensifies efforts to bring next gen drugs to market


The opportunity

Over the past decade, antibodies have emerged as the fastest growing segment of the pharmaceutical market. Antibodies are proteins that function in the immune system to fight invading bacteria and viruses, and with modern engineering technologies, researchers have been able to develop antibodies that can be programmed to target cancer and other devastating diseases. Canada originated the biologics revolution with the discovery of insulin in 1921. Since this breakthrough, Canada has remained at the forefront of basic biological research. The Toronto Recombinant Antibody Centre (TRAC), Canada’s leading centre for the production of high-quality antibody and biological, is now able to take full advantage of the commercial opportunities of antibodies through the creation of the Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics (CCAB).

How CCAB is seizing the opportunity

CCAB enables the commercialization of biologics by filling three voids in the Canadian system: a shortage of process and manufacturing know-how and engineering needed to convert antibodies into commercial products, a lack of knowledgeable and dynamic business leadership in biotherapeutics, and too few connections with international industry and investment partners to facilitate late-stage drug development. CCAB leverages TRAC’s world-class technology platform, large repertoire of antibody products, biology and experienced product development teams to produce novel intellectual property. Promising technologies are positioned for clinical development and partnered with new or existing companies for market launch. CCAB provides the business and development services needed to commercialize TRAC’s biologic and antibody assets.

Among the results

  • CCAB, representing its member, the University of Toronto, has partnered with the University of California San Francisco and the University of Chicago in a collaborative research and commercialization deal with Celgene Inc., securing more than $40 million in funding for the discovery and development of new cancer therapeutics, $13 million of which will be spent on development within Toronto.
  • Select antibodies targeting cancer and other diseases have been moved into CCAB’s development program from a pipeline of projects consisting of more than 200 different target-based screening programs originating at TRAC. CCAB is targeting the creation of five new companies and the licensing or co-development of more than 10 technologies over the next five years with Canadian and international companies.
  • CCAB has executed more than 135 partner-focused agreements with Canadian and international industrial and academic collaborators, such as Saksin Pharmaceuticals in India for the co-development of better antibody drugs. The first product is scheduled for clinical trials in 2017, and three additional programs have been initiated.
  • CCAB is the industry sponsor of 10 trainees at the University of Toronto and McMaster University, with antibody development projects for many diseases, including Glioblastoma and other deadly cancers, through Mitacs Elevate and Accelerate fellowships.

Connect with CCAB

 

News

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics - CCAB

15 millions de dollars pour 2014-2019
Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics

Nombre de partenaires
12

Contributions des partenaires
994 000 $

Siège social
Toronto (Ontario)

Chef de la direction par intérim
Ian Stewart Ian Stewart

Agent scientifique en chef
Sachdev Sidhu Sachdev Sidhu

Président du conseil d’administration
Ajay Chadha Ajay Chadha

Le Canada intensifie ses efforts pour commercialiser les médicaments de la prochaine génération


L’occasion

Depuis 10 ans, les anticorps représentent le segment du marché pharmaceutique qui connait la croissance la plus rapide. Ces protéines du système immunitaire luttent contre les bactéries et les virus envahisseurs. Grâce aux technologies modernes, les chercheurs sont en mesure d’élaborer des anticorps pouvant être programmés pour s’attaquer au cancer et d’autres maladies dévastatrices. Le Canada a amorcé la révolution biologique en 1921 avec la découverte de l’insuline. Depuis cette percée, il est demeuré à l’avant-plan de la recherche en biologie fondamentale. Son principal centre de production de produits à base d’anticorps et de produits biologiques de grande qualité, le Toronto Recombinant Antibody Centre (TRAC), est maintenant en mesure de tirer pleinement parti du potentiel commercial des anticorps par l’entremise du Centre for the Commercialization of Antibodies and Biologics (CCAB).

Comment le CCAB saisit l’occasion

Le CCAB favorise la commercialisation des produits biologiques en comblant trois lacunes du système canadien : la pénurie de savoir-faire en matière de procédés et de fabrication pour transformer les anticorps en produits commerciaux; le manque de dirigeants d’entreprise compétents et dynamiques dans le domaine de la biothérapie; et le manque de liens avec l’industrie et les partenaires d’investissement à l’étranger pour faciliter la dernière étape du développement des médicaments. Le CCAB exploite la plateforme technologique du calibre mondial, le vaste répertoire de produits à base d’anticorps et les équipes de développement de produits expérimentées du TRAC pour produire de la propriété intellectuelle inédite. Les technologies prometteuses font l’objet d’un développement clinique, puis sont commercialisées en partenariat avec des entreprises nouvelles ou établies. Le CCAB fournit les services d’affaires et de développement de produits nécessaires à la commercialisation des produits biologiques et à base d’anticorps du TRAC.

Quelques résultats

  • Par l’entremise de la University of Toronto, le CCAB s’est allié à la University of California à San Francisco et à la University of Chicago dans le cadre d’une entente de recherche et de commercialisation concertées avec Celgene Inc. Cette entente lui permet d’obtenir des fonds de plus de 40 millions de dollars pour la découverte et la mise au point de nouveaux médicaments contre le cancer, dont 13 millions de dollars seront affectés à la mise au point de médicaments à Toronto.
  • Le CCAB a puisé, dans la réserve de projets du TRAC, qui compte plus de 200 programmes de criblage orienté, certains anticorps qui s’attaquent au cancer et à d’autres maladies afin de les intégrer à son propre programme de développement. Il s’est donné pour objectifs de démarrer cinq entreprises et d’octroyer sous licence ou de codévelopper plus d’une dizaine de technologies avec des entreprises canadiennes et étrangères, et ce, au cours des cinq prochaines années.
  • Le CCAB a exécuté plus de 135 ententes de partenariat entre collaborateurs canadiens et étrangers du milieu universitaire et du secteur privé, comme Saskin Pharmaceuticals, en Inde, pour le développement de médicaments à base d’anticorps. Les essais cliniques du premier produit sont prévus en 2017 et trois autres programmes ont commencé.
  • Grâce aux fonds des programmes Accélération et Élévation de Mitacs, le CCAB forme 10 stagiaires de la University of Toronto et de la McMaster University à des projets de développement de médicaments à base d’anticorps contre de nombreuses maladies dont les glioblastomes et d’autres cancers mortels.

Pour en savoir plus sur le CCAB

 

Nouvelles
Le 18 juillet 2017
Le 20 juin 2017
Le 16 juin 2017
Le 24 mai 2017
Le 22 mars 2017
Le 20 mars 2017
Le 16 novembre 2016
Le 20 octobre 2016
Le 1er septembre 2016
Le 1er septembre 2016
Le 22 juin 2016
Le 26 novembre 2014