Networks of Centres of Excellence of Canada
Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Centre for Commercialization of Cancer Immunotherapy - C3i

$15 million for 2016-21
logo

Headquarters
Montréal, Quebec

Chief Medical Officer
Lambert Busque Lambert Busque

Board chair
Louis Lacasse Louis Lacasse

Accelerating the immunotherapy cancer care revolution


The opportunity

Immunotherapy is a rapidly emerging practice that harnesses the power of the immune system to combat cancer. It could revolutionize cancer care by developing nontoxic, highly efficient and decisive cures that do not rely on chemotherapeutic agents, thus improving patients’ quality of life and reducing healthcare costs. These treatments could be used in 60% of advanced cancer patients by 2025. Canada needs greater capacity to translate these therapies into patient care, and to help Canadian companies compete in a potential $40 billion market.

How C3I is seizing the opportunity

The Centre for Commercialization of Cancer Immunotherapy (C3i) will accelerate access to innovative cancer immunotherapies for patients. Operating out of the Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont installation of the Integrated University Center of East Montreal (CIUSS de l’Est-de-l’île-de-Montréal), the centre will offer an integrated structure for the development, translation and commercialization of these groundbreaking therapies. C3i will combine three interacting units that will provide patients with cutting edge biomarker and diagnostics tests, good manufacturing practices standards and rapid access to clinical trials and regulatory support to bring effective and affordable remedies more rapidly to Canadians and the world. This will strengthen Canada’s position as a leader in the emerging field of cancer immunotherapy.

Among the expected results

  • C3I will work to reverse the erosion of Canada’s competitiveness in global pharmaceutical markets. The centre will incorporate Canadian and foreign investments to reboot clinical trial development and enhance collaborative activities with Canadian subsidiaries of major pharmaceutical companies.
  • By bringing together specialized laboratories, a unique Good Manufacturing Process facility, extensive research and entrepreneurial expertise, and a large patient base, C3i will make it easier for Canadian health professionals and patients to gain early access to promising therapies at the developmental stage.
  • Key partnerships between C3i and pharmaceutical companies have paved the way for the first clinical trials in Canada using various cutting edge technologies based on cellular therapy including CAR-T cells (immunity cells engineered to target cancer).

Rseaux de centres d'excellence
Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Centre de commercialisation en immunothérapie du cancer - C3i

15 millions de dollars pour 2016-2021
logo

Siège social
Montréal (Québec)

Médecin en chef
Lambert Busque Lambert Busque

Président du conseil d’administration
Louis Lacasse Louis Lacasse

Accélérer la révolution du traitement du cancer par l’immunothérapie


L’occasion

L’immunothérapie est une nouvelle pratique en plein essor qui exploite la puissance du système immunitaire pour combattre le cancer. Elle pourrait révolutionner la cancérothérapie grâce à l’élaboration de traitements non toxiques, hautement efficaces et décisifs qui ne font pas appel aux agents chimiothérapeutiques, ce qui améliore la qualité de vie des patients et réduit les coûts des soins de santé. Ces traitements pourraient être utilisés pour 60 % des patients atteints d’un cancer de stade avancé d’ici 2025. Le Canada doit accroître sa capacité de soigner les patients à l’aide de ces thérapies et d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à concurrencer dans un marché qui pourrait valoir 40 milliards de dollars.

Comment le C3i saisit l’occasion

Le Centre de commercialisation en immunothérapie du cancer (C3i) accélérera l’accès des patients aux immunothérapies novatrices du cancer. Rattaché à l’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont qui fait partie des Centres intégrés universitaires de santé et de services sociaux (CIUSS) de l’Est-de-l’Île-de-Montréal, le centre sera un structure intégrée pour l’élaboration, l’application et la commercialisation de ces thérapies révolutionnaires. Il combinera trois services qui travailleront en collaboration pour offrir aux patients des tests de biomarqueur et de diagnostic de pointe, des normes de bonnes pratiques de fabrication, ainsi qu’un accès rapide à des essais cliniques et à un soutien en matière de réglementation afin que les Canadiens et le monde entier aient plus rapidement accès à des traitements plus efficaces et abordables. Il fera du Canada un chef de file du nouveau domaine de l’immunothérapie du cancer.

Quelques résultats attendus

  • Le C3i s’emploiera à contrer l’érosion de la compétitivité du Canada dans les marchés pharmaceutiques mondiaux. À l’aide d’investissements canadiens et étrangers, il relancera l’élaboration d’essais cliniques et améliorera les activités de collaboration avec les filiales canadiennes des grandes entreprises pharmaceutiques.
  • Grâce au regroupement de laboratoires spécialisés et de nombreux patients, à une installation unique ayant la certification Bonnes pratiques de fabrication et à une vaste expertise en recherche et en entrepreneuriat, le C3i facilitera l’accès rapide des professionnels de la santé et des patients du Canada aux thérapies prometteuses qui sont à l’étape du développement.
  • Des partenariats importants établis entre le C3i et des entreprises pharmaceutiques ont ouvert la voie à la réalisation au Canada des premiers essais cliniques utilisant des technologies de pointe basées sur la thérapie cellulaire, y compris les cellules CAR-T (cellules immunitaires fabriquées pour cibler le cancer).